Currently Obsessed With · Other Bookish Stuff

Currently Obsessed With… Steven Universe!

Hi Everyone!

Welcome to a new feature I’ve decided to start on my blog called, ‘Currently Obsessed With…’ Or if you wish to shorten it, COW! This is something I’ve wanted to do on my blog for a while now, because as much as I adore books I also have plenty of other things that I love just as much! So basically the idea of these posts are for me to simply gush about something I’m currently really loving and to also recommend whatever I’m loving with you guys. It will definitely vary from time to time so it could be anything from books, movies, musicals, TV shows, music, anime… as I said, pretty much anything. Today though, I’m going to be talking about the one and the only, Steven Universe!

In case you were unaware, Steven Universe is an animated children’s TV show made by Cartoon Network and before you all scoff and click away, let’s just say it’s so much more than that. The series follows a young boy named Steven who lives with three Gems. Gems are magical, alien-type creatures that each poses certain powers. Steven’s mum was a gem who gave up her life in order for her son to live who is half human and half Gem. This series, while mainly created for a young audience, includes so many incredible characters and engaging themes that it’s basically just as great a viewer experience for older audiences. Not sold yet, let me expand upon why you should be watching this show and just why half of Tumblr appears to be in complete love with it.

First things first, just a fun fact- but did you know that this was the first Cartoon Network show created by a woman. Awesome, right! It’s also probably one of the many reasons why this show is so fabulous.

So let’s talk about representation in this show. One of the main reasons why I believe so many people talk about this show is because of how inclusive the show is not only in terms of the cast but also characters on the show. First of all, the majority of characters on the show are female, who are all strong and unique characters in their own way. Each character has their own story and character traits making the show so much more fun and interesting to watch. All the characters and Gems in the show have different shapes, sizes and body types though one is never suggested to be superior to the others. I thought this was such a nice touch that spreads such a subtle, but powerful message to all viewers especially young kids. On top of this, the show is also praised for its representation of the LGBT+ community. I don’t want to talk about this too much in case of spoilers, but this is a fantastic step forward toward including this representation in children’s animation.

Now let’s talk about the themes and characters this show deals with. As I mentioned earlier, each character is completely unique with their own personalities, strengths and weaknesses. I was honestly so surprised by this and it’s something I had never seen before in a program intended for children. The themes and ideas in the play also went quite deep considering the intended audience. Just some of the ideas explored included the impact of grief and issues behind politics.

Now I probably made the show sound a million times more serious than it actually is, but at the end of the day the show does aim to make you laugh and it 150% achieves that. Steven’s goofy nature along with the hilarious lines from each of the other characters had me rolling on the floor laughing multiple times while watching. The show also included plenty of references to features of pop culture today. I particularly liked how in one episode, Connie, one of Steven’s friends, who is also a total bookworm, pointed out all the flaws in a book-to-movie adaptation she wanted to watch. Sound familiar?

And last but not least, THERE’S MUSIC! Yes, this show is technically a musical, or at least partially. There may not be a song every episode, but trust me, the songs that do appear are super catchy and either super quirky and hilarious or super meaningful. You just really don’t know what will come next with this show. As of today, I have only watched season one and am currently making my way through season two but so far my favourite songs have been Giant Woman, Strong in the Real Way and Stronger Than You.

So there we have my gushing/review/discussion/recommendation of Steven Universe!! I hope I really did convince you to watch the show, or at least look more into it because trust me, you won’t regret it. I believe the show is on season 4 now but each episode only goes for a maximum of 12 minutes so it’s not too much time taken out of your day! So please, please watch so we can discuss all about it! But if you have watched Steven Universe, let me know what you think of it in the comments, what your favourite song is and who your favourite character is (mine is probably Pearl, so far).

Thank you all so much for checking out my first COW (Currently Obsessed With…) let me know what you all think of this new feature! But until next time. 😛

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

 

3 thoughts on “Currently Obsessed With… Steven Universe!

Leave a Reply

