Book Tags

Mid-Year Freak Out Book Tag!

Hello!!

Guess who’s back, (back, back) back again!! Okay I’ll stop, but yay I’m here blogging again! I’m really sorry about my delayed absence! But today I’m here to do the mid year In summary, this tag is a mid-year summary of all the books I’ve read so far this year. I have only read 18 books this year so far though, which for me is kind of disappointing, but hopefully I’ll be able to read a lot more in the second half of the year. I will also link my review for each book if I have done a review on them. I’m really excited to get started with this tag so let’s just jump right into it.

1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2016.

LADY MIDNIGHT BY CASSANDRA CLARE!! Do I even need to explain why?!!

2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2016.

The Copper Gauntlet by Cassandra Clare and Holly Black. Surprisingly, I ended up enjoying this book a whole lot more then I originally thought I would. I became super invested in all the characters while reading this and can’t wait to see where the story will take us during the rest of the series.

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling. It just came out today and I’ve only just started reading it!  I’ve heard really mixed things about it so I’ve gone in with low expectations but I’m still super pumped to finally see what happens and form my own opinions on it. I’m actually surprised by how much I’ve been able to avoid spoilers!

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year.

HOW DOES ONE PICK!!!!!?? If I had to pick one though I’m choosing Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas. I’m incredibly excited to see what happens to my beloved characters next!

5. Biggest disappointment.

The Haters by Jesse Andrews. I thought I would really love this book since I loved Jesse Andrews other book. But alas, I didn’t really like it. It wasn’t the worst thing I’ve ever read but I feel like it could have been a LOT better.

6. Biggest surprise.

Ten Thousand Skies Above You by Claudia Gray. The first book in this series was alright but I had a lot of trouble connecting to the characters, same for the first half of this book as well. Fortunately the second half of the book really picked up and I ended up enjoying it a lot more then I originally thought I would.

7. Favourite new author (debut or new to you).

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson. The writing and story in this book was so damn beautiful and I can’t wait to read any more books by Jandy Nelson!

8. Newest fictional crush.

Rhys from A Court of Mist and Fury. I mean is this really a surprise? How could I possibly not fall in love with Rhys?!

9. Newest favourite character.

Apollo from The Hidden Orcale by Rick Riordan. I was not expecting to love Apollo as much as I did. The character development in this book along was incredible and Apollo was just way too hilarious to not love.

10. Book that made you cry.

Weirdly enough, I don’t think any books I’ve read so far this year made me full on burst into tears. But I definitely teared up multiple times during Lady Midnight, so I guess I’ll have to pick it again. 😛

11. Book that made you happy.

Life In Other Space by Mellisa Keil. This was actually a re-read for me but it made me smile just as much this time, if not even more then the first time. I found this book just so damn cute and relatable and I would definitely recommend it to all you YA contemporary readers.

So there we have the mid-year freak out book tag! I’m sorry I haven’t been blogging much lately, I’ve been quite busy and have sort of been in a blogging slump. 😦 But nevertheless, I shall try my hardest to post more for you guys! But until next time…

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

Leave a Reply

