Book Reviews

Life In Outer Space Book Review| Why You Need This Book In Your Life!

Life In Outer Space is a young adult contemporary novel by Australian author Melissa Keil. It follows Sam, a geek obsessed with movies who flies low on the social radar at his high school. That is, until Camilla starts going to Sam’s high school and appears to be a total opposite Sam. Surprisingly, Sam becomes friends with Camilla and his relationship with her begins to grow which he’s also making his way through high school while trying to achieve his dream of being a famous script writer. In my head, this book is the perfect blend of Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell and Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews. It takes some of the best parts of those books which also bringing its own unique quirks.

I should probably start by saying that this book was a re-read and I adored it just as much this time as I did the first time, if not more. This story was the perfect mix of nerdiness and romance that was fast-paced and super entertaining. Honestly, I’m so surprised that so many people have yet to pick up this book since it’s such a great read and totally underrated! So for this review I’ve decided to set it out by listing a number of reasons why you should read this book!

Reason 1: Realistic and Relatable Characters

This has got to be what I love the absolute most about this book. Sam, the main character, is one of the most relatable character’s I have ever read about. Actually, it’s kind of creepy how similar our thought processes appeared to be and how much we’re dedicated to fictional worlds. Sam, along with the other characters, were super interesting to read about and felt very real. Very few characters felt like they were simply put in to act out stereotypical high school roles which I find very rare for a contemporary YA novel. All in all, these characters are amazing and it’s a shame we only get to read one book about them. 😦

Reason 2: Movie References Galore!

Think you’re an avid movie watcher? Well you can find your answer simply be seeing if you can understand all the movie references within this book. As mentioned previously, Sam loves movies and loves incorporating or linking them to his everyday life. Because of this there are so many hilarious movie references that I’m sure a lot of you would really enjoy.

Reason 3: Meet Your New OTP

I don’t want to spoil anything but the main pairing in this book are absolutely adorable together! I loved reading about them so much and I really wish Melissa Keil could write another book in which they could maybe at least have a cameo in.

Reason 4: Super-Fast Paced

I read this book in LESS THAN ONE WEEK! That’s right LESS THAN ONE WEEK! Most of you probably wouldn’t think twice about this but because I have been so busy this year it’s been usually taking me 1-2 weeks to finish each book I read. 😦 Disgraceful, I know… But this one I read within ONE WEEK! And I’m so incredibly happy about it! I wil just say though, that I felt the ending was quite abrupt but I mean, it is a contemporary so what’s new? 😛

Reason 5: Hilarity Ensured

While reading there were plenty of times in which I would laugh out loud at all the jokes made. What I especially loved about the humour was all the movie references weaved into them which were again, absolutely hilarious. Also, it’s definitely worth mentioning that this book includes absolutely hilarious chapter headings that definitely reminded me of the chapter titles in Me and Earl and the Dying Girl.

So there we have the top 5 reasons, out of many, why you should read this absolutely fantastic and entertaining book! Because of this I would definitely give it a solid 4.7 out of 5 stars critically but I’m going to round it up to 5 stars simply because I had such a fun experience reading it. Also, I just need to quickly mention how much I absolutely adore the Australian edition of this book since the cover is just so damn pretty!

5

So there we have my review for My Life In Outer Space by Melissa Keil. Let me know if you’ve read this book or if it’s on your TBR, which it 150% should be! Thank you for checking out my review and I’ll chat with you all later. 🙂

Gabby the Dauntless Warlock xx

Leave a Reply

