Book Tags

The Intimidating TBR Tag

Hello!

Today I’m here to do the Intimidating TBR Tag! This tag was created by Lindsey Rey but I just recently watched Ariel Bissett the tag, which sort of inspired me to do this blog post today. Basically this tag consists of questions having to do with the massive TBR (to be read) pile I have. My TBR pile is basically an infinite list so I’m sure this tag will be effective in making me feel extreme guilt. So let’s delay any further and get on with the tag!

1. What book have you been unable to finish?

Golden Son by Pierce Brown. So I started this book quite a while ago and I only read about 50 pages before I had to put down because of the excess of school work I had and for some reason I never picked it back up again. Now don’t get me wrong, I wasn’t hating it or anything, I just wasn’t really in the mood of it. To be totally honest, I wasn’t the biggest fan of Red Rising. It was enjoyable but the world was so complex and intense that I had trouble understanding a lot of it. It may have just been because it was an adult book and I was only 14 when I read it? To be honest, I’m not really sure and I was really pushing myself to read Golden Son. In the end, I don’t think I’ll actually ever finish Golden Son which I guess is a shame but I can live with it. 🙂

2. What book have you yet to read because you just haven’t had the time?

The Haters by Jesse Andrews. This book is actually next on my TBR and I have been so excited ever since it came out and I was able to get a copy. Because I’ve been super busy with school and reading other books though I have been unable to get to it. But no fear, I am absolutely determined to get to this one next week and I am so damn excited!!

3. What book have you yet to read because it’s a sequel?

Yellow Brick War by Danielle Page. I saw this book in the book shop the other day and surprisingly decided to walk away. I think the main reason for this is because I didn’t really the second book in the series and am really nervous that I really won’t like this book either. I think eventually I will pick this one up though because I am super curious to see what happens at the end of the series.

4. What book have you yet to read because it’s brand new?

The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski. I bought this book just last week and just haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. As I said, I’m busy with school right now and reading other books but I’m going to try and read this book very soon! I am so, so excited to see how this series ends and gosh this cover is do darn pretty. Also does anyone else think the model on the cover looks exactly like Miley Cyrus?!

5. What book have you yet to read because you read a book by the same author and didn’t enjoy it?

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver. This book is actually becoming a movie (or is it a TV show?) very soon yet I still have yet to pick it up! I do admit that the reason may partially have to do with the fact that I’ve read two other books by Lauren Oliver and while I did somewhat enjoy them, I didn’t love them. I do want to get to this book soon though, at least before I watch the adaptation version so I’m probably going to add it to my immediate TBR very soon.

6. What book have you yet to read because you’re just not in the mood for it?

Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs. I’ve been so excited for this book to come out ever since I read Hollow City but unfortunately I just haven’t been in the right mood to read it since I got it. I think it may have something to do with the fact that I read Hollow City two years ago and pretty much forgot everything that happened in it… Regardless, I am excited to reading Library of Souls one day hopefully sooner than later though!

7. What book have you yet to read because it’s humongous?

The Host by Stephanie Meyer. So not only is this book absolutely huge but the text in it is so freaking tiny! Like how is anyone supposed to read the properly!? As well as all this it is not a young adult book and I have already watched the movie so I feel like I already know the story. So basically there are a LOT of reasons why I haven’t read this book yet. But don’t worry I am super determined to still read it at some point during my life since I do own it and I feel bad that it has been sitting on my shelf for almost three years now…

8. What book have you yet to read because it was a cover buy that turned out to have poor reviews?

Teardrop by Lauren Kate. I bought this book on a total whim because the cover was so gorgeous. When I went online though I saw so many negative reviews of the book that I have just been way too nervous to pick it up. Honestly, I doubt I’ll get to this book anytime soon but I’m glad that it at least looks really pretty on my shelf. 😛

9. What is the most intimidating book in your TBR pile?

Great Expectations by Charles Dickens. This is a book that I’ve owned and wanted to read for quite a while now. Though this book is absolutely huge and the text is so small!! Not only that, but it is quite a famous classic which is also quite intimidating. One of the main reasons why I want to read this book though is because Cassandra Clare’s upcoming series The Last Hours is loosely based upon this book and when I read the series I do want to try and spot the comparisons between the two. So I’ve kind of made it my goal to try and read it by the time the first book in Cassandra Clare’s series comes out! Hopefully I can make it… 🙂

10. Who do you tag?

Yet again, I’m not going to tag anyone specifically because no one tagged me but if you do feel like doing this tag the totally feel free to!

And there we have the Intimidating TBR book tag! Hope you enjoyed reading about all the books I have yet to read and the immense amount of shame I have about it. Let me know in the comments what books you guys have on your TBR which you’re super intimidated about! Thank you so much for reading my post and I’ll talk with you all next time!

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

6 thoughts on “The Intimidating TBR Tag

Leave a Reply

