Book Reviews

Ten Thousand Skies Above You Book Review

Ten Thousand Skies Above You is the second book in the Firebird trilogy by Claudia Gray. In short, this series follows a girl named Marguerite whose parents have created technology that allows for interdimensional travel. I don’t want to talk too specifically about the plot since this is the second the second book in the trilogy but if you would like to learn more about the first book, feel free to check out my review! (Fun fact: it was also the first review I ever made on my blog!) Basically this second book follows on from the events of the first one and more interdimensional drama occurs.

To be totally honest, going into this book I had low expectations especially in terms of where the romance was heading and things weren’t looking too great for the first half of the book. Though as soon as I hit around the half way mark I felt like the book really started to pick up as a whole and got a whole lot more interesting. I found myself struggling to put down the book each time and was surprised to find myself immensely enjoying myself. Now that I’ve finally finished the book I’m really keen to get my hands on book three ASAP!

My favourite thing about this book and series in general is the concept of the different dimensions. Each time the characters’ travel to a new dimension I am incredible excited to learn about the new world. I think Claudia Gray does an amazing job at describing each world very while not overwhelming the reader. I also loved how she created unique characteristics for each character within each dimension even though they were technically still the same person. I thought it was interesting to see how even though they were the same person, the experiences they had made each version of themselves different. I also liked each dimension not only helped thicken the plot but also help the characters develop.

Which brings me to one thing I was super glad this book had that the first book lacked, character development! So without giving too much away. Marguerite’s love for her boyfriend and the start of this book was expressed so many times it annoyed me. Whenever a character would do something or say something, Marguerite would immediately go into a detailed paragraph about what her boyfriend would feel, do or say in the situation or something similar. Now I can understand why this could be necessary a couple of times to introduce new ideas or show her feelings and train of thought. BUT IT DIDN’T JUST HAPPEN A COUPLE OF TIMES! IT FELT LIKE IT HAPPENED EVERY DAMN PAGE! This really slowed down the book for me till it got to the point that I had to keep putting down the book because it was so frustrating. It wasn’t until as I said before, around the halfway point where certain events start going down and Marguerite starts to develop and mature. HALLELUHIA! And thank god for that since I don’t think I would have kept reading the series if she hadn’t…

Another thing I really appreciated and didn’t expect from this book was the way in which the love triangle was executed. Of course I’m not the biggest fan of love triangles but honestly I did not hate this one as much as I thought I would. It didn’t play as big a part in the book as I expected it to which was amazing but it was brought up from time to time which I was absolutely fine with. Now that I feel like I know both potential love interests better, I don’t think I would really mind who she ends up with as a whole.

One issue I did have is that the whole interdimensional travel idea is explained in quite a watered-down scientific way. I’m sure this will come with no surprise, but I’m not exactly a science expert so I was still left feeling slightly confused as to how different ideas and concepts would work out. This wasn’t too big of an issue though and not really a fault of the book but rather just a lack of my overall understanding about physics.

Overall though I’m happy with how this book turned out and I had a lot more fun reading it then I had expected. I would definitely recommend reading this series if the concept interests you, but if you’re not a major fan of romance then this may not be your cup of tea. My rating would probably be a 3.5 out of 5. I just felt like the first half of the book really let the book down as a whole. I am very much desperate to get my hands on book three though since damn that ending really left me hanging!

So there we have my review! Let me know in the comments if you’ve read Ten Thousand Skies Above You and what your thoughts were on it or if you are considering picking up the series. Thanks so much for checking out my review and I shall chat with you all later!

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

Leave a Reply

