Other Bookish Stuff

Spotlight Saturday #3

Hi Everyone!

Today I’m finally back with another Spotlight Saturday! In case you didn’t know, Spotlight Saturday is a weekly feature started by Josie’s Book Corner in which we discuss the highlights of our week in a variety of different topics. So without further ado, let’s begin!

Spotlight Book

Could I really go with anything other than Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare? This is the book I am currently reading and so far I am 100% completely loving it. I didn’t realise how much I missed the Shadowhunter world until I found myself completely enthralled in the book and unable to put it down! I think so far my favourite character is Julian but obviously I’m loving all the others especially the other Blackthorns, Malcolm and Cristina. Right now, I’m not completely sold on Emma’s character but I think I’ll soon fall in love with her character as well. Overall I’m having such fun reading this book and I’m so happy that it’s getting me out of my reading slump!

Spotlight Movie

Recently I was able to watch the Disney movie, Hercules for what I believe is the first time. Basically last month on Youtube while procrastinating doing homework I came across the clip from Hercules with the song I Won’t Say (I’m in Love). I watched the clip and fell in absolute love and no joke played the song on repeat for the next week. I then got around to watching the movie and had such a fun time doing so. I found it so cute and hilarious and I really wished I’d watched it when I was younger. Also Meg was absolutely amazing and she totally needs her own her movie!

Spotlight TV Show

Since I’ve been so busy with school I haven’t been able to watch much TV this week specifically but this month my friends finally convinced me to start watching the anime Death Note. Overall I thought it was fantastic and was surprised by quickly I was able to watch it. The plot was amazing and the main characters were so interesting and well developed. My only problem is the pacing of the show was a little all over the place and there were a few very anti-climactic episodes which were disappointing. But as a whole I had a whole lot of fun watching this show and would definitely recommend it!

Spotlight Music

Recently, as you probably noticed from my blog post a few weeks ago, but I’ve been obsessed with the musical Hamilton. I’ll leave a link to my Hamilton Book Tag in which I go in to more detail about how to get into the musical and why I love it so much. But seriously this musical is incredible and has such talented singers and rappers in it. I listen to at least a couple songs from the musical and even when I’m not the songs are still stuck in my head 24/7. Also if you follow me on Tumblr you’ll probably see that 80% of what I reblog is Hamilton related. So yep, it’s not as if this musical has taken over my life or anything… But please do listen to it! Trust me, you won’t regret it! 😛

Spotlight Moment

Last Saturday I had my 16th birthday party with a bunch of my friends. I had such a fun night and it was really cool to be able to hang out with some of my friends outside of school. I actually was worried that no one would turn up (no joke, I had a dream about it…) and I was so happy that people did end up turning up. Basically I just wanted to take a moment to appreciate all of my friends who are completely awesome for putting up with me and making school as enjoyable as possible. You guys are the best! 🙂

Spotlight App

TUMBLR! The Tumblr app is so accessible and easy to use that I actually end up using it more than I use Tumblr on desktop. While I haven’t been as active on Tumblr as I usually am, I still try my hardest to keep up my blog there. This app has definitely made this easier for me and honestly, it’s just such a fun place to visit whenever I’m feeling a bit low and am in need of a pick me up.

Spotlight YouTube Channel

Just yesterday I discovered the channel Broad Strokes. I actually found them through their Severus Snape and the Marauders – Harry Potter Fan Film which is actually one of their two videos I watched but I DON’T CARE I STILL WANNA TALK ABOUT THEM! Basically they are a team of film maker and the videos of theirs I watched were both Harry Potter related. Severus Snape and the Marauders in particular were so well made both in terms of the story and the special effects. I can’t remember a time where I’ve ever teared up while being awed by the effects in just one YouTube video, as I was for this one. I would definitely recommend this video and channel to all Harry Potter fans! Like seriously guys, you’re totally missing out!

Spotlight YouTube Video

Christine (PolandbannanasBOOKS) Shadowhunter Off video has probably been my favourite within the past few weeks. If you haven’t heard of Christine, she is probably one of my favourite BookTubers and YouTuber in general. A few weeks ago she was lucky enough to be able to hang out with the cast of the Shadowhunters TV Show in which this video was filmed. Basically the challenge was hilarious and overall it just made me really love and appreciate the amazing cast for the show. Even if you may not be the biggest fan of the TV show I would still recommend watching this since it was so fun and entertaining! 😛

So there we have it for Spotlight Saturday this week! Let me know what some of your highlights of the week have been in the comments. 🙂 I’m sorry I haven’t been as active lately on the blogosphere, school has kind of taken over my life… Nevertheless I do try and blog as much as I possibly can! So until next time!

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

Leave a Reply

