Book Tags

Top 5 Wednesday: Books You Didn’t Finish

Hi Everyone!

Surprise! I’m back with another top 5 Wednesday after what seems like forever since I last did one! Today’s topic is Books you DNF (did not finish). I’m actually one of those readers who try their very hardest to finish a book regardless if I am enjoying it or not. Because of this, for the most part I do end up finishing all the books I pick up. There are a few exceptions though which I’ll be talking about today!

5. Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

I’m going to be completely honest and say I only got to read the first chapter of this book. Now before you all start screaming at me with frustration I do have a kind of reason/excuse. I actually got given this book for review mid last year when I was quite busy with exams. I felt so much pressure to read and review the book in time before it came out as well as a bunch of other groups plus studying for my exams and basically the pressure was too much. I ended up giving up reviewing it and purely focussing on my school work. Since then I’ve had quite a busy schedule and never been able to find time to pick it up again. But I have heard such amazing things about it and trust me, I am so determined to one day finally pick it up and finish it. But until then it’s on my DNF list and will forever make me feel guilty.

4. The Red Pyramid Graphic Novel by Rick Riordan, Orpheus Collar

This is a graphic novel I decided to borrow from my school library over the holidays. Unfortunately I was busy with others books and ended up only reading the first maybe 30 pages of the graphic novel. I was really enjoying it though and I decided to put it down just so I could maybe pick up the actual novel and read it first. I have no idea when that’s going to happen though, knowing me though probably not for quite a while…

3. Mao’s Last Dancer by Li Cuxen

This was a book I had to read for school back when I was in year 7 and only 12 years old. I don’t know what the teachers were thinking, giving this book for 12-13 year olds to read. Needless to say, I found it incredibly boring and tedious to get through. I’m sure if I was to read it now I would find it a little more interesting but back then I had no interest in it whatsoever. I basically read the first 8 chapters which I needed for my test and refused to move on. Autobiography’s are also not the main genre I enjoy reading hence this is probably the only book on this list that I don’t have plans to ever finish.

2. Golden Son by Pierce Brown

Similar to the first book I mentioned, the only reason why I haven’t finished this book yet is because I decided to pick it up during exam time, got too stressed and completely gave up on pushing myself to read it. Not to mention, this book is quite dense considering it is adult (right?) science fiction. It had also been close to a year since I’d read the first book once I picked this one up and had basically forgotten everything that happened. So again, I would like to pick this book up again and give it another try but I don’t really have much motivation unfortunately so it will probably never happen…

1. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

This is the book I think that most of you will be surprised I never finished. Everyone absolutely adores this book and it’s definitely on the short size which always makes people ask me why I didn’t finish it. And honestly, the answer to that is kind of ridiculous. So I picked up the book when I was 13 and I got maybe up to page 50 if not less. The book had quite a bit of mature content and themes which I found a little confronting and I just found it too strange to read and enjoy. Looking back at it now, it really wasn’t that bad at all and I would be totally fine reading it now. Though I still haven’t and again, I feel an immense amount of guilt about it. I’m sure if I ever did read the book I would absolutely adore it, especially including the fact that I loved the movie. Alas, the day has yet to come that I have read this book but one day I swear it will happen!

And there we have it! My top 5 books I never finished! Let me know in the comments what books you’ve never finished. Are any of yours the same as mine? If so let me know so we can share our guilt together! But until next time,

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

8 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books You Didn’t Finish

    1. That’s good to hear! It’s just such a thick book and I have to find time to dedicate all my concentration on understanding it 🙂 and haha I totally blame school work for getting in the way of that 😛

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

