Book Tags

Top 5 Wednesday: Best Recommended Books

Hi!

Today I’m back for another Top 5 Wednesday post! This week’s topic is best book recommendations you received that you loved. Let’s just jump straight into it shall we!

5. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

This basically goes without saying. I only read this series last year after having it been recommended to me by almost everyone in real life and on the internet. I guess all those recommendations ended up working since I read the series and of course loved it. So thank you everyone who recommended this series to me!

4. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

Ever since this book came out so many people online have been loving and recommending it! I had heard so much praise about this book especially on booktube and the premise sounded fantastic so I couldn’t possibly miss this book. I finally got around to it last year after hearing it was turning into a movie directed by Steven Spielberg with Olivia Cooke. I was definitely not disappointed. The plot was so intense and captivating that I could barely put the book down. Obviously, I still had a few issues with the book but I am still really glad that this book got recommended to me.

3. The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

I got recommended this book by a mixture of a few of my friends and of course, the internet. Obviously, this is such a popular series and I felt like everyone was reading it and it seemed amazing so I really wanted to jump on the bandwagon. It wasn’t until the beginning of 2014 till I started reading the series and just as I predicted, I fell completely in love. Till this day I absolutely love all of Cassandra Clare’s books in the Shadowhunter world and I know for a fact that I will be reading all of her books as soon as they come out for the foreseeable future.

2. Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

Booktuber Kat from Katytastic was my main influence in reading this book as soon as I did. If you follow Kat on any social media I’m sure you would have heard about her obsession with this book after reading it. Since she and it seemed so many others loved this book I had to get to it ASAP! Even though I already had high expectations, this book managed to go above and beyond them. I absolutely adored the characters and the whole book was super fast paced and fun. This is one book that I’m so glad had so much buzz around it since I’m certain I wouldn’t have read it as soon otherwise.

1. Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan

My school friends were the main influence I had to read these books. Most of them would all talk passionately about this series and make fun of all the characters and events. To be honest, I had little idea what the series was about except it was about Greek mythology. The year before I saw some of the movie on TV, the Lotus Hotel scene and I’m sure we all know that, that scene in the movie was done terribly. I knew the series were children books and I was so confused to see all the people in the movie gambling and definitely not acting like 12 year old kids like they are in the book. Now, that I look back I’m so mad at myself for judging the books by the movie so never picking them up. Fortunately though when I did get around to reading the series it was absolutely amazing! This series is heart-warming, action packed and hilarious and everything I could want from a series. I feel that even if you are no longer a kid anymore you would still highly enjoy this series and should definitely give it a shot. I’m so glad I finally listened to all the recommendations to this series so now I can join in with all my friends and the rest of the internet when they discuss and laugh at everything Percy Jackson related!

There we have my top 5 books recommended to me! Let me know what books that were recommended to you that you ended up really enjoying! Also if you have any books that you would like to recommend to me you can leave those in the comments! Thanks so much for checking out my blog, I’ll chat with you all next time!

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Best Recommended Books

Leave a Reply

