Book Tags

Top 5 Wednesday: Biggest Badasses

Hi Everyone!

Finally I’m back for the first top 5 Wednesday of the year! This week’s topic is biggest badasses which is such a fun topic to talk about. I’m don’t know about everyone else but the word ‘badass’ for me basically just means awesome which all of these characters definitely are. I didn’t pick all of these characters solely on the fact that they were good fighters but for many other reasons too. So without further ado let’s get into it!

5. June from the Legend series by Marie Lu

Need I remind anyone that the entire Legend series took place while June was 15-16 years old. I don’t know about you guys but I’m 15 now and haven’t done half the amount of amazing things that June has done. Even from the start of the first book we learn June graduated high school when she was 15! (What! How? Can I graduate now please?!) June is intuitive, intelligent and caring and if she’s not a badass then I don’t know who is.

4. Kestrel from The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

Now Kestrel may not be the best in a fight but boy is she smart. I thought it was absolutely amazing to read a series follow a strong lead character that wasn’t good at fighting and instead had to use their wits to work their way out of situations. I definitely admired her strength to follow her own morals rather than the morals of their society, or should I say lack of. I also loved how Kestrel’s area of expertise was strategy especially in warfare like her father which I thought was unique from other YA books. I’m super excited for the final book in the series where I’m sure we’ll get to see a whole lot more of Kestrel’s badass-ness.

4. Tris from the Divergent series by Veronica Roth

Tris was one of the first badass female characters that I looked up to. I loved following her journey throughout the series and her character growth within them. While many people disliked the last book in the trilogy I personally didn’t and will always have a place in my heart for it. Her selflessness and bravery were awe-inspiring and definitely admirable. Tris is a character who I feel had so much potential to be a role model for girls around the world and I’m pretty sure she would have been if one the movie franchise had gone the right way. Unfortunately not, but I’m sure Tris will continue to inspire me and all YA book readers with her badass-ness.

2. Katniss Everdeen from The Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collines

I could not make a list of biggest badasses without including Katniss Everdeen herself. While reading the books Katniss continued to inspire me with her strength and determination to keep her and her friends alive. I loved how her complex her character was and how in the last book we get to fully see the impact of what the events of the series has left on her. I think it’s amazing that characters like Katniss are now part of mainstream pop culture since she’s a great role model for anyone to look up to.

1. Celaena Sardothien from Throne of Glass

As soon as I hear the word ‘badass’ Celaena is the first character who comes to mind. She is such a strong, smart and unique character which I’ve never seen the likes of in other young adult books. She has had to get through so much yet came out the other side even stronger which is so amazing to see. Her character development throughout the series is amazing and I’ve loved being able to read about her character growing not just physically but mentally and emotionally. As well as being an absolutely amazing at fighting she also loves reading and fashion making her character so much more complex than just a kick-ass assassin. I’m so excited to see where Celaena goes in the last few Throne of Glass books and I’m probably going to cry having to say goodbye to her once the last book comes out.

There we have it, top 5 Wednesday for this week. Thank you so much for stopping by please leave a comment on who your favourite badasses are! So until next time…

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

 

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Biggest Badasses

  1. I absolutely adore Tris. She was one of my favorites. Such a shame that the movies are lowkey kind of terrible. Your list is spot on ❤ Kat from the Lux series is also a badass.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

