Book Reviews

Magnus Chase and the Sword of Summer Book Review

Magnus Chase and the Sword of Summer is the first book in a new series titled Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asguard by Rick Riordan. The series is based around Norse mythology and follows Magnus Chase who recently learns he is the son of a Norse god and is given the mission to delay Ragnorak (the end of the world) with the help of his friends.

I can’t remember the last time I had such fun reading a book. I could barely stop turning the pages every time I picked up the book. I went into this book blindly having little idea what it was about and no idea what other people thought of it. Because of this I didn’t have the highest expectations so boy wasn’t I in for a surprise.

I loved each and everyone one of the characters, who were all so amazing and hilarious. I can’t remember the last time I read a book with such a diverse cast of characters.

Let’s start with good old Magnus Chase. First off, let’s just appreciate how damn hilarious and sarcastic Magnus was. It was such fun to read the book from his POV and I didn’t realise just how much I missed the funny chapter titles. I think ‘Heathstone Passes Out Even More Then Jason Grace’ was my favourite. πŸ˜› While going into the book the main thing I was looking for were differences between Percy and Magnus since at the start they both seemed quite similar. As the book went on though I started to spot a few differences. The first one being the fact that Magnus seemed a lot more mature and independent then Percy did especially Percy from the first few books due to him being left homeless as an orphan when he was around 13/14 years old. Because of this though, Magnus was quite resourceful which helped him out quite a lot on his quest. As well as that I loved just how caring Magnus was especially toward his friends. It was touching to see the lengths he would go to in order to protect his friends from harm.

Next we’ve got to talk about Samirah. Samirah was such an amazing character who I loved from the second we met her. I rarely see Muslim characters in the books I read so Rick Riordan definitely deserves a round of applause for adding her in. I really liked the talks that she and Magnus had about her family and religion and how she wanted to become a pilot. I think it’s going to be interesting to see her relationship with Magnus unravel throughout the books. I definitely feel like they’re relationship is going in a more brotherly/sisterly direction rather then a romantic relationship although I wouldn’t be opposed to that either. Anyway Samirah was awesome and I can’t wait to see more of her again in the next book.

Next of course we had Blitz and Hearth who I absolutely loved!!! I’m not going to talk too much about them since I don’t want to spoil anyone but they’re characters were super interesting to read about. I loved both of their backstories and how they never really fit in with their families. I just wanted to give them both a hug for all the tough things both of them had to go through. Also I 100% ship them and I don’t care what anyone says, THEY ARE DEFINITELY A CANON SHIP!!!

I think we can all agree that Norse mythology is confusing as heck. I have never really watched or read anything that properly explains Norse mythology before so I had clue about anything. Considering, I think Rick Riordan did a good job but that didn’t mean I completely understand everything. First off there are 9 worlds and you could travel between them with this massive magical tree but travel between them is restricted? Then there were two types of gods, war gods and nature gods and if a god didn’t fit between those two categorise they could be counted as a giant? And not all gods are completely immortal like in Greek mythology, some can die? Now don’t even get me started on all the words I couldn’t pronounce. Einherji? Valkyrie? Yggrasil? Folkvanger? Gleipnir? Now the pronnunctiation of most of these words were talked about when they were first mentioned but it turns out I don’t have the best memory and pretty much forgot what was said 2 pages later.

Beside that though the only real issue I had was the amount of side quests all the characters had to go on. They would go to get help from one god who would make them go get something for them before referring them to someone else who they would have to get something else from and god damn it got so annoying! Like for gods sake Magnus and crew were trying to save the world from ending which is technically the gods job in the first place so at the very least they should be willingly helping the characters! I suppose gods will be gods though and at the end of the day the side quests were still fun to follow along on and I felt like a lot of them were setting up complications and foreshadowing for the next books in the series.

Overall I still had such an entertaining time reading this book and I’m going to struggle waiting for almost a whole year for the next one. This book really reminded me why I love Rick Riordan so much and I can’t wait to read all of his upcoming books. I’ve also heard people theorising that the Trials of Apollo (Rick’s upcoming series) and this series may entwine together while I think this would be amazing I find it unlikely but I do definitely think especially Annabeth will play a key role in the Magnus Chase series at some point. So yes, this book was amazing and I couldn’t possibly give it any less then 4.5 out of 5 stars. I would definitely recommend especially for fans of Percy Jackson, but seriously even if you haven’t read or didn’t like Percy Jackson chances are you’ll still like this one!

Thank you all so much for checking out my review. Be sure to leave your thoughts about Magnus Chase in the comment or if you’re thinking of reading it anytime soon. Thanks again for stopping by!

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

 

2 thoughts on “Magnus Chase and the Sword of Summer Book Review

Leave a Reply

