Other Bookish Stuff

2016 Resolutions and Goals

Hi Everyone!

Today I’m coming at you guys with some of my challenges and goals for 2016 regarding my reading, blogging, nerdy fandom related and personal things. So let’s do it!

Reading Goals

1. Read 25 books

This year I set my total reading goal on Goodreads to 25 books. The reason why it’s a lot smaller then previous years is because I’m going into year 11 at school which from the sounds of it is going to be quite challenging. Because of that I’m not sure how much time I’ll get to read but hopefully I’ll still be able to read at least 25 books! Chances are I will since I’ll have to read quite a few books for school. πŸ™‚

2. Read a wider range of books

Another goal I have is to start reading a more diverse range of books. Currently most of the books I read are young adult. Now don’t get me wrong, I love young adult and will probably forever love young adult but I think now’s the time to start looking at reading other types of books. In 2016 I’m hoping to read a few more classics and more books in the ‘adult’ genre. Also within the young adult genre I’m hoping to start reading more diversely. For example reading books about LGBTA+ characters or POC characters.

Blogging Goals

1. Blog constantly

Last year there were periods of weeks where I completely neglected my blog since I was just too busy or too lazy. This year I plan to make some sort of schedule in order to keep my blogging on track. My plan is to aim to have at the very least, one post per week but preferably two if not more. I’m really hoping I can stick to this throughout the year! You can do it Gabby!

2. Do different types of posts

I also plan to mix up the types of posts I make. In 2015 I made a lot of top 5 Wednesday posts and not much else. In 2016 I will of course continue with top 5 Wednesday but I also want to post a lot more review, discussions and other bookish related posts. I would also like to start posting a few personal/non-bookish related posts and I’m wondering if you guys would be interested in those? Please leave a comment if so!

3. Be more active in the community

Finally my last blogging goal is to try and be a more active follower on people’s blogs. Often I find myself reading someone’s post and enjoying it but being too lazy to leave a comment. THIS IS GOING TO CHANGE! I’m going to try and leave a comment on more posts I enjoy in order to become a more active member of the community.

Nerdy/Fandom Goals

1. Attend nerdy/pop culture conventions

The number one nerdy type thing I want to do next year is attend a pop culture convention. Last year I went to Supernova with my friends which was super fun and I intend to go again this year. I am also thinking of attending Oz Comic Con and hopefully Book Expo Australia (which I went to in 2014 and really enjoyed).

2. Watch more anime

My next goal is to watch more anime. Recently I started watching anime due to a lot of my friends recommendations. So far I’ve watched Attack on Titan and am currently watching the first season of Sword Art Online. I have loved both so far and am so surprised that I haven’t been exposed to the awesome world on anime sooner. Let me know if you’ve watched any of these anime’s or if you have any recommendations for me. πŸ™‚

3. Catch-up on the Marvel movies

Another fandom goal I have is to catch up on all the Marvel movies. The Marvel Cinematic Universe is amazing and I really want to be completely involved in it. I have watched a lot of Marvel’s most recent movies but not a lot of the slightly older ones. Over the first half of the year I plan to catch up in order to have watched all of them, if not most of them by the time Captain America Civil War comes out, which looks like it’s going to be amazing. At the moment I still have to watch the Iron Man movies, Thor movies and Captain America The Winter Soldier. I can do that in a few months can’t I? Haha of course *nervous chuckling* On top of that I’m thinking of starting to watch some of the Marvel TV shows but I guess that won’t happen for a while.

Personal Goals

1. Start writing

Writing is one of those things that I’ve always really enjoyed doing and always wanted to do but am not necessarily the best at. Over the past few years I’ve had so many story ideas bouncing around inside my head but I’ve always been to nervous to actually write them down. This year I really want to start writing all this stuff down since I know the only way I’ll get better at writing is if I keep on trying and then learning from my mistakes.

2. Start filmmaking

Filmmaking is another hobby that I’ve always enjoyed doing but something that I’ve always pushed aside for other activities. Next year in one my of classes I’ll be learning about video editing which is something that would really help me with filmmaking in the future. One thing I really want to do is just script either a few fun sketches or a short film and maybe possibly start filming. Honestly I’m not sure how far I’ll get with this goal but it’s just a hobby I’m hoping to pursue further this year.

There we have it! My 2016 goals and challenges! Looking back at it now, it’s quite a lot though I’m sure I’ll be able to get there! Comment what goals you have 2016, do we have any of the same goals? Just before we go, I set up a bloglovin account to help me keep track of all my favourite blogs! Feel free to follow my blog on it and leave a link to your account in the comments so I can follow your blogs! Thanks for reading!

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

 

10 thoughts on “2016 Resolutions and Goals

  1. Some good animes I’ve watched a little of or heard of are Naruto (my personal favorite, but it takes a lot of dedication), Dragon Ball Z (my best friend and little brother are completely OBSESSED with this one), Death Note (my first anime and one of the best starting points in anime), Soul Eater (It’s actually a lot funnier and light-hearted than the title suggests), Fairy Tail (I haven’t watched this one, but I’ve started reading the manga and it’s great. Manga is also a good genre to get into; it’s like anime put into Japanese comic book form, and you read everything from right-to-left, which can get just a bit confusing at times), and Fullmetal Alchemist (I’ve not seen this one, but read the manga instead). If you watch something more light-hearted, comical, and romantic instead of death, wizards, magic, and action, try My Little Monster or Ouran High School Host Club!
    \(=^_^=)/ Those are my recommendations! Have fun, live long, and prosper!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! My friends are obsessed with Death Note and are constantly recommending it. I’ve also watched a few episodes of Ouran High School Host Club which seemed lots of fun. I’ve been wanting to get into manga for a while except I rarely see any in my local bookstore so I’ll probably end up borrowing some from the library at some point. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Discussion posts are some of my favorites, so I really hope that works out for you! I think it would be cool to get to know you better through personal posts as well–but don’t share anything you’re not comfortable sharing xD

    HELL TO THE YES about the writing ❀ I adore writing and I adore meeting writers, so I really look forward to seeing your writing journey. You could also do posts about that–share with us what you're writing and how you're approaching it and what you're learning as you do~

    Best of luck with all your goals and if you ever need someone to chat with (especially about the writing), I would love to talk!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

