Book Tags · Uncategorized

Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Retellings

Hi!

I’m back today on Wednesday, as usual, to do another top 5 Wednesday! This week’s topic is out favourite retellings either fairytale, myths or literature retellings. While compiling this list I realised I had read quite a few more retellings then I previously thought, so let’s start!

5. Cruel Beauty by Rosamond Hodge

This book is a sort of dark fairytale retelling of Beauty and the Beast. From what I remember it’s about this girl who is set to marry this evil ruler guy and is then meant to kill him but instead ends up falling in love with him. I read this book a few years ago now so I don’t exactly remember much but I do remember enjoying it and liking the romance but I do think I still had a few issues with it. I think the ending was rushed a little and I felt like I was left in the dark on certain aspects of the story. But overall it was an entertaining book and I would recommend it if it seems like a type of story you would like.

4. Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Page

Dorothy Must Die is a fairytale retelling/ continuation of The Wizard of Oz. In the book, Dorothy returned back to Oz and has become a power hungry ruler. Our main character Amy, who surprise, surprise lives in Kansas is swept away to Oz where she is recruited to kill Dorothy and free Oz. Personally, I really enjoyed the book, especially the first one (not so much the second…) The story was really interesting and different which I really appreciated even though it was a little weird at times and now I can never watch The Wizard Of Oz in the same way.

3. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas

ACOTAR is a book that’s been getting a lot of buzz and hype this year, but of course this is totally well-deserved. It is another Beauty and the Beast fairytale retelling about a girl named Feyre who kills a fairy and is then forced to live with the fae lord Tamlin for retribution. I’m just going to link you to my full review if you want to learn more. Basically this was fabulous and the characters are amazing and OMG RHYSAND! Please go read this!

2. Percy Jackson by Rick Riordan

I don’t know if this is technically a ‘retelling’ but I’m going to include it anyway. I don’t know who you are and where you’ve been for the past 10 years if you have no idea what Percy Jackson is about but I’ll tell you anyway. The series follows a boy named Percy whose father is the Greek god Poseidon making him a demigod. Throughout the series and the spin off series, Heroes of Olympus, him and his friends go on plenty of fun and exciting quests and adventures. In short, this series is awesome and you should read it! Seriously, I do not care how old you are, you will enjoy these books! NO ONE IS EVER TOO OLD FOR PERCY JACKSON!

1. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

Yup, here I am talking about this series in yet another post (what, is this like the 3rd post in a row now…) To summarise: this is a sci-fi dystopian series where each book follows a new fairytale retelling so there’s Cinderella, Little Red Riding Hood, Rapunzel and Snow White. To learn more about the series I’ll leave a link here to my review on the last book Winter which just came out last month. If case you missed my 100 other recommendations, here I am recommending it to you yet again. Just read the series!! It is amazingly awesome!!

There we have it! My top 5 favourite retellings! Be sure to leave a comment on what your favourite retellings were and your thoughts on my picks!

 

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Retellings

Leave a Reply

