Book Tags

Top Wdnesday: Books You’re Thankful For

Hey 😀

Surprise, surprise I’m back for another top 5 Wednesday! I’m sorry for my delayed absence I took a break during exams and my internet went weird and a whole bunch of stuff prevented me from blogging. But I’m back now and will hopefully be around for a little longer! J Today’s topic is books we’re thankful for so let’s start!

5.The Shadowhunter Chronicles by Cassandra Clare

Cassandra Clare is amazing, this is no secret. I love all of her books immensely and have the best time reading them. But honestly what I’m specifically thankful for is that I can always rely on a new book by her each year. So thank you Cassie, thank you! Of course the current Shadowhuntner books are fabulous and I’ve never been disappointed with any one of them. They’ve introduced me to an amazing world with such fun and relatable characters who you can’t help but fall in love with. I cannot wait to read every one of Cassie’s new Shadowhunter books. And yes, I will be reading all of them as soon as they come out!

4. Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas

If you haven’t heard of this series yet then I don’t know where on the planet you’ve been. This book has been all over the place and honestly when I first heard about it I was a little scared to pick it up. Before I read Throne of Glass I hadn’t read a lot of fantasy/ high fantasy books and was nervous to pick any up. I was scared I would have trouble getting into the story and understanding the world and all the different things in it. But nevertheless I tried out Throne of Glass anyway and ended up loving it! It helped me realise that I shouldn’t be scared of high fantasy books just because they’re generally thicker in size then other books. Without Throne of Glass I really doubt I’d have read any fantasy books in the past year or so which would have been a shame since I’ve read a lot of great fantasy books since. Also I think we should just be grateful of Throne of Glass for being an action packed yet romance filled adventure with a kick-ass lead character. So yay! All the love for Throne of Glass!!

3. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

The Harry Potter series is one of the biggest book series of our time. Basically everyone on the planet has either heard about, read or watched the series. I know for a lot of cases it influenced lots of people into reading when they were younger. I feel like because of this it is fair to say that the HP series is a universal uniting point between all readers and non-readers. Before reading the series all of my friends and classmates would make references and jokes about Harry Potter which I would never understand (please tell me I’m not the only one who has felt this?) When I finished the series I was finally able to join in on the fun by having discussions with friends, watching the movies and finally being able to understand all the HP related tumblr posts. I’m not sure if this is making any sense but basically Harry Potter has had just too much influence on the world and on me for me to just leave it out of this list.

2. The Fault In Out Stars by John Green

Whenever someone asks what book has impacted me the most my immediate answer is this one. Cheesy, I know but true. It’s hard to explain but this book made me look at the world in an entirely different way. I first read the book when I was 13 and back then I didn’t understand too much about the world and what was going on around me, not that I’m saying I do entirely now but that’s a different story… The book made me realise these three points 1. The world doesn’t owe you anything 2. Being famous and well known isn’t everything and 3. John Green is amazingly yet creepily good at capturing what it’s like to be a teenage girl. TFIOS was also the first book which I followed along the stages of it becoming a movie. From casting to filming to all the trailers and stills being released- I was there. It even got to the stage where I would save every on-set photo and even screenshot tweets from John Green while on set. It was also because of this movie that I decided to get twitter. Basically I loved this book and you can’t do anything to change my mind. I’m extremely thankful that it exists and that I read it at the time I did because I can’t imagine how different my life would be without it. *Takes a deep breath* woah that was deep… let’s move on!

1. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Meet the book that is the reason I am here today! I was just scrolling through my school’s online library looking for an audiobook to read when I stumbled across The Hunger Games. I’d watched the first move the year before but came into the cinema a little late so was totally confused for most of the movie as to what the hell was going on. So I basically picked up the book on a whim and before I knew it I had listened to all three audiobooks within a week and was obsessed! I quickly jumped online and started searching for similar books and basically came back with a TBR list including every young adult book ever. Not only did this book get me into the young adult genre it also got me into the internet and all book related things online. Book blogging, booktube, talking about books on social media- I would have had no idea of any of these things without reading The Hunger Games series. It also got me back into steadily reading again since previously I was just reading a book every month or so and having no real direction as to what type of books I wanted to read. I guess you could say The Hunger Games helped me find my reading home? *loud groans at the amount of cheesiness in this post* Ok fine, however you want to word it. This series is fabulous and I will forever be grateful for it!!!

Thank you all for checking out the post. Comment a book or series that you’re grateful for or whether you agree with any of my pics! Catch you all next time! 😀

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

6 thoughts on “Top Wdnesday: Books You’re Thankful For

  1. Harry Potter has impacted my life and know I understand the saying I found online :” If you don’t get this reference there is something siriusly ron with you!” I also love the Hunger Games series and TFIOS! Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Great Post!!! When I picked up TOG I honestly thought I would hate it! Now whenever someone mentions the book or something about the book I literally say OMG have you read or You HAVE to read it! TOG has made me love the fantasy genre so much and has definitely changed my mind about fantasy.. I now find myself picking up fantasy books in my school library all the time! Hope your exams went well too!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Honestly my life would never be the same without The Mortal Instruments and Throne of Glass series! MOST OF MY BOOK BOYFRIENDS WOULDNT EXIST. Gosh just thinking about those series not existing kind of makes me wanna cry!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

