Book Tags

Top 5 Wednesday: Halloween Recommendations

Hi Everyone!

Today I’m back again for top 5 Wednesday to give you my top 5 Halloween recommendations. Sorry I haven’t been around much recently, I have exams coming up next week and I haven’t gotten around to reading or writing many blog posts. L Just a quick disclaimer, I’m not a massive horror fan so while a lot of these books are slightly Halloween or creepy themed they aren’t too scary.

5. Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Seth Grahame-Smith

This book is exactly what the title suggests, Pride and Prejudice with zombies. While this probably sounds very weird it was actually very entertaining. You got to see the characters from Austen’s novel thrown into an apocalyptic setting and it was fantastic and super badass. It was a little bit gory and graphic but I didn’t really have an issue with that. It was also great to see the classic characters get the endings they deserved unlike in the original book. While it wasn’t the fastest paced book there is a graphic novel option that is just as fun. You may have probably just seen that the movie trailer came out last week. You can watch it here if you want to learn a little bit more about the story. I definitely can’t wait to watch it!

4. Half Bad by Sally Green

This is one I read quite a while ago so forgive me if I get any facts wrong. From what I remember it’s set in this world of two different types of witches. White witches are good and black witches are bad. That is except for our main character Nathan who is half white and half black witch. I remember this book also being paced a little slowly at the start but it really picks up as the book goes on.  It was a very intriguing read and different to anything I had read previously.

3. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Lani Taylor

I don’t want to give away too much about this book because I think it’s best to go into it not knowing much. It’s a high fantasy book set in quite a complex and mysterious world. I have only read the first book so far so I’m not exactly sure what the overarching plot of the series is. To give you a brief teaser the first page of the book says ‘An angel and demon fell in love. It did not end well.’ Now tell me you’re not interested in reading this book, I bet you can’t! It did have a very mysterious and creepy feel to it which I think is perfect for Halloween season.

2. Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Page

In one word this book or series in general is C R E E P Y. But in the best way. It’s a Wizard of Oz retelling where Dorothy returned back to Oz and took over as an evil dictator sucking all of the magic from the land. Amy a girl from Kansas in modern day is brought to Oz where she is recruited to take down Dorothy and return Oz to its formal glory. Personally I liked the first book a lot better then the second but that doesn’t mean it’s not worth reading. But trust me, one you read this series you will never look at The Wizard of Oz the same way again.

  1. Miss Pereguine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

So many people are hesitant to read this series because it looks to scary. Let me be the person to 100% assure you that this series is not scary AT ALL! In fact, for the most part it’s super fun and intriguing. It is basically about this boy named Jacob whose grandfather told him about these group of children called Peculiars who had special powers. When his grandfather dies Jacob sets out to find them and see if his father was really telling the truth. While it isn’t a scary book there is still some element of mystery to it which was really interesting and captivating. In other news, this book is also becoming adapted as a movie directed by Tim Burton and staring a bunch of well-known and loved actors. I’m so excited and now would be the perfect time to jump on this bandwagon and read the book before the movie comes out.

That’s all I have for today. Be sure to comment what you think of any of these books or any recommendations you have for Halloween reads (Or even movies!). I just want to apologise for my absence recently and to warn you guys that I will probably be off for the next week if not two so I can focus on studying for my exams. Thank you so much for understanding and checking out my post, I’ll talk to you all later!

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Halloween Recommendations

    1. Hi 🙂 Most of the time I write my posts (especially top 5 Wednesday posts) at the beginning of the month and schedule them for each Wednesday. Unfortunately this month the topics didn’t come out until a little bit later, which happened to be just before exams. I’m really sorry for my continuous absences but I’m sure I’ll get a lot better after next week when my exams will be over for the year. Again, Im very sorry. 🙂 Thanks for the comment 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

