Book Tags

Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Diverse Characters

Hi Everyone!

First off I need to apologise again for being MIA over the last couple of weeks on my blog. I’ve been quite busy with school and just life in general so I’ve barely had time to sit down and write up posts. But I’m back for now and have a little bit of time on my hands which I’ll definitely be using to write a few blog posts for the coming weeks. So on with the topic of today’s post, our top 5 favourite diverse characters. I tried to find a variety of characters who were from different racial backgrounds, have different sexualities and characters with disabilities. Overall, while making this post I realised the lack of diverse books I’ve been reading which is quite a shame. I also tried to stick to the main characters in their books. But I was able to bring together a top 5 so let’s get into them now!

5. Amy from Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern

Amy has cerebral palsy a disability that leads to her being unable to walk and have difficulty speaking. I didn’t really like this book very much, it was okay but nothing spectacular. What I did like about it though was how it portrayed Amy. Even though she did have a disability it wasn’t what defined her, she was still extremely smart and didn’t let her disability get in the way of doing what she wanted which I really admired. This is the first book I’ve read that has a main character with a disability and  even though it isn’t my favourite it’s definitely introduced me to a new variety of books that I need to read more of.

4. Arnold Spirit, Jr from The Absolute True Diary of a Part Time Indian by Sherman Alexie

This is a book that I read a little while ago so please forgive me if I get any information wrong. This book followed Junior who is, as the title says, Indian. He lives in the Spokane Indian Reservation and in order to achieve his dream of being a cartoonist so moves to a high school outside the reservation. The book deals with his struggles of being the only Indian in an all-white high school. I loved how in the book Junior never let racial stereotypes or racist comments from his classmates stop him. Not only was it an insightful read which really widened my eyes to a number of issues that I was never aware of but it was also laugh out loud hilarious. This is a book I would definitely recommend!

3. Emi Price from Everything Leads To You by Nina LaCour

While making this list I realised how little LGBTA+ books I had read. This is actually the only full novel I can remember reading that has a main character who is a lesbian. What I liked especially about this book was that Emi was certain of her sexuality and had already been in relationships with other girls before. This really varied from other LGBTA+ books I’ve heard about that have characters unsure or still experimenting with their sexuality, which isn’t bad I just think it was nice to have something a little different. This book also reminded me that I really need to get started on reading more LGBTA+ books ASAP!

2. Lara Jean from To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before

I loved this book and I especially loved Lara Jean. Lara-Jean is half Korean. In the book we see her talk a little bit about her culture and what it’s like to be half-Korean which I thought was really nice. But at the same time the book focuses more on the plot of the story rather than just concentrating on her race. What I also really love it they actually got a model on the cover of the book who actually looks like Lara Jean which is a first! But seriously, this book is so cute and amazing and filled with super interesting character, so you really need to read it!

1. Park from Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

So this is probably one of the more famous diverse YA characters, and there’s a good reason for it too. Park is also half-Korean and just happens to be one of my all time favourite male characters. I read this book quite a while ago but from what I can remember Park did talk a little about his culture and what it was like to be half-Korean with Eleanor and through the chapters in his point of view. But just as with these other characters, his race was only one part of him and he was still given and extremely sweet and caring personality. Because of this Park just had to be number 1 on my list. And by the way if you haven’t read Eleanor and Park yet you are seriously missing out!

That’s all for this week! Comment down below any recommendations you have for diverse reads and what some of your favourite diverse characters are! Thank you to everyone for checking out my post and for putting up with my long breaks from blogging. 😛 This weekend I plan to write up a number of posts and then schedule to post them over the next few weeks. Until then!!

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Diverse Characters

  1. Great choices! The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian is one of my favourite books ever.

    If you’re looking for more books about people with disabilities I would really recommend She Is Not Invisible, by Marcus Sedgwick. It’s about a blind girl, Laureth Peaks who’s searching for her missing father.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

