Movie Reviews

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl Movie Review

Hi Everyone! 🙂

Today I’ve decided that I’m going to start doing Movie Reviews on my blog as well as all that bookish stuff. Don’t worry, most of the movie reviews will be book to movie adaptations, like today’s. I’ve been wanting to do this for a while now so let me know what you all  think! 😀

Today I’ll be talking about Me and Earl and the Dying Girl directed by Alfonso Gomez-Rejon based on the book Me, Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews. There aren’t any spoilers so feel free to read this regardless if you’ve watched the book or read the movie.

As you may or may not know, I’ve been anticipating this movie for months if not years and I was so glad that I finally got to watch this movie last week. I first heard about the book probably around this time 2013 and after great things about it I decided to give it a go. I read the first few chapters or so and was immediately engaged. For some reason or other I never got any further in the book until early 2014 where I read it from start to finish. Since then it’s been one of my all-time favourite books and waiting around for the movie to be released.

In case you didn’t know Me, Earl and the Dying Girl follows an aspiring film maker named Greg who is forced by him mum to befriend a girl in his class called Rachel who has just been diagnosed with Leukaemia. Now don’t be fooled, it is definitely not what you’re thinking. While one of the characters does have cancer there’s no romance and no deep meaningful message. If you want to find out more go watch the trailer down below! You won’t regret it! 😛

Now on to my actually thoughts of the movie, I loved it! It definitely met all of my expectations and then some.  For the most part, the movie followed the book directly and all of the changes made complete sense and really complemented the film format. I think getting Jesse Andrews, the author of the book, to write the movie was such a great idea and I think one of the reasons why the movie turned out as well as it did. The director was also amazing and I freaking loved the cinematography. I really hope he directs more movies soon because I’m sure I would watch them all! I think casting for the movie was also perfect and I couldn’t imagine anyone who could portray the characters better.

First off I just need to mention how pleased I was that they kept pretty much the same feel of the book in the movie. Sure a few things were added, moved around and changed but the main ideas stayed the same. The movie kept the whole unique and awkward vibe that the book which made it movie wise, really different from any other movie I had watched before.

A change in the movie that I really appreciated was the fact that the movie focused solely on Greg and his development as a character. This didn’t really happen in the book which I had no problem with, but translated to film character development made much more sense. I also like how they really developed Rachel’s character and made her a much more memorable and likeable character. I think this had something to do with the fact that their friendship in the movie was really emphasised where in the book they were never really good friends. Again, I really liked this change. Without giving away too much, the ending was also changed. It was a bit more meaningful but not a full on sob fest where the meaning to life is revealed like you may expect.

One issue I had with the movie was that it felt a bit too slow at times, especially toward the middle. It may have been due to the many montages showing Greg and Rachel’s everyday interactions or awkward silences in conversations. I suppose this was done on purpose since it did go well with the feel of the story but probably could have been edited down a bit so it wouldn’t seem to have dragged on for so much.

Another thing that I was a little upset that they left out was more information on Earl. I suppose it was necessary to focus more on Greg but I did feel that Earl’s character could have been developed a bit more. I feel like they rushed through Earl’s back story a bit in the movie in order to concentrate on Greg and Rachel which was a bit of a shame. They never even mentioned Earl’s issues at home and Earl’s struggle once they finished high school. They also cut out the fact that Earl had a big family which wasn’t a massive change, but I still think it’s worth mentioning.

Now I just want to quickly talk a bit about the cast. First off, I think Thomas Mann did a perfect job portraying Greg. I saw in one of the director’s interviews that Mann was able to really Greg’s words his own which I couldn’t agree more with. And while he wasn’t exactly who I pictured as Greg in my mind, I honestly didn’t care and I think Mann portrayed the role in the best way possible. RJ Cyler did a great job playing Earl and I’m looking forward to seeing him in more movies in the future. Olivia Cooke played Rachel perfectly and really added a depth to the character that wasn’t there in the books which was very enjoyable. I also really loved the way Greg’s parents were portrayed as well as Greg’s history teacher who also had a depth added to him that wasn’t there in the books. So basically, A+++ to the casting director! Please cast every book to movie adaptation ever!!!

Overall this movie was definitely entertaining and uplifting and I would highly recommend everyone should watch it, regardless of whether you think you’ll like it or not. It was one of those amazing movies that could make you laugh one second and cry the next. I’m going to rate it a well deserved 4.5 out of 5 stars. I can now definitely see where all the praise has come from and why it won the Sundance Film Festival. Hopefully it will come out on DVD soon since I want to re-watch it ASAP!

Thanks for checking out my review! 🙂 Comment down below if you have or want to watch Me and Earl and the Dying Girl so we can talk about it in the comments. 😀

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

3 thoughts on “Me and Earl and the Dying Girl Movie Review

Leave a Reply

