Book Tags

Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Required Reading

Hi Guys!

This is only going to be a super short post since I’ve been so busy this week but still wanted to get this post up. This week’s topic is our favourite required reading for school. To be completely honest, I can’t remember a lot of the books I read for school before High School and I’m not exactly a big fan of the books I do remember reading since then but I managed to scrape together 5 that I wanted to talk about this week. So let’s start!

5. Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare

This is technically a ply and not a novel, but for this week I’m just going to go ahead and count it. 😛 We had to study this for school earlier in the year and I actually was surprised by how much I enjoyed it. To be honest, I didn’t really like the love story at all but beside that the play was quite entertaining. I’m glad that we got to study this book at school since I always have trouble understanding Shakespeare plays and I know I would have never picked this one up on my own. And while I don’t think this is the greatest play ever, I still found it fun and interesting to study.

4. The Declaration by Gemma Malley

This was a book I had to read over 4 years ago in Year 7. At the time I didn’t really like it and even now I have pretty mixed feelings about it but I have grown to appreciate it especially since it introduced me to one of my currently favourite genres, dystopian. When I studied this book in school, I learnt all about the amazing world of dystopian fiction and I have to thank this book for my current love for the genre now. And while I know I’ll never re-read this book again, I suppose I still have some fond memories from reading it.

3. Much Ado About Nothing by William Shakespeare

Yes, another Shakespeare play! Who saw that coming? 😛 This is my favourite Shakespeare play, well out of the grand total of 3 I’ve read/been forced to study at school. Basically I found this play super fun and enjoyable to read. I loved the two main characters and the romance in the book. Basically it was such a fun read and one of the best experiences I have had studying a text for school.

2. Animal Farm by George Orwell

I’ve heard such great things about George Orwell and Animal Farm and so when I saw it was on our list of texts we were studying last year, I was so excited. When I first read the book I liked it, but didn’t fall in love with it. But after studying it more during school and learning more about the actual context of the book and how it represented the Russian Revolution, I appreciated it on a whole new level. The idea of the book in my opinion was so smart and I really liked how we went through it in class so I got to have a really good understanding of it. This is one book that I’m actually very glad I got to study while at school. It also made me really interested to read other George Orwell books and I’m especially excited to read 1989 by him.

1. The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak

This is one of the only books we have had to read for school that I had already read. I read The Book Thief for the first time at the end of 2013. I enjoyed it but I read it while coming out of a reading slump so it took me about a month to read which was frustrating. Though when I watched the movie once it came out I appreciated the story a whole lot more. We’re actually studying this book now at school and it’s been really interesting to look at it more in-depth then I had originally looked at it. It has also made me realise about all these new themes in the book that I never even though of before. Overall it’s been really interesting to study this book in class and again, I now have a whole new appreciation for the book.

Now that’s all for this week everyone! I’m sorry this is such a rushed post and that I’ve been really inactive lately. L I’m really hoping to pick up the blogging pace soon, or at least within the next few weeks. But until then, thanks for reading and talk to you next time! 😀

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

8 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Required Reading

  1. I find it so cool that you’re studying The Book Thief! My teacher had the choice of picking 1989 as a book to study in school this year however sadly she didn’t pick it. My favourite required reading of all time is Jasper Jones. Its fantastic!
    I was gutted when last year the other English class in my year read To Kill A Mockingbird and I didn’t get to read it because I was in the other class. I’m pretty sure my friends thought I was crazy for sulking about it! xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jasper Jones does seem quite good Ill probably try to look into it if I have any time. And Haha I really want to read To Kill A Mockingbird as well, hopefully in the next few years same with 1989. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

