Book Tags

Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Maps

Hi πŸ™‚

This week’s topic is top 5 maps in books. Unlike some readers, I’m not the biggest map enthusiast but I find them really useful and interesting to see the world of the book visually. I’ve been really busy lately so I’m just going to keep this post short and sweet. πŸ™‚ So without further ado, let’s start the list!

5. The Young Elites by Marie Lu Like with most fantasy books, the worlds are quite complicated and include many different kingdoms and lands which can be really hard to keep up with. This book was no exception. The map was able to give me some indication of where and how big each area was which was really helpful. The artwork was also amazing making it even better.

4. A Court of Thornes and Roses by Sarah J Maas In case you didn’t know, in the world in this book the faeries own most of the land and it is explained that they cut off a section of it for humans. When I actually looked at the map though, I was shocked to see how small the human section really was compared to all the land that the faeries owned. I think this map was great for giving us a visual image of just how powerful the faeries in the story are and I could totally see why the humans feared them. I think the map also hinted at some future problems that may be faced within the series, such as a war between the two lands.

3. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart It’s very rare that you find a map in a contemporary book, so I really liked the change in this one. While the map was nothing spectacular, it was nice to see how the island was laid out and who lived where. I also really liked the artwork and the fact that the houses and other small details were drawn in.

2. Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas There were a number of times while reading this series where I had to reference the map to try and get an understanding of who was travelling where. The map was a great addition and super helpful while reading. I also liked how there were certain little details drawn in such as trees indicating forests. What I also liked about the map was how it is added to throughout the series as the story is set in different places within the world. Even though this map is a little complicated it was still the helping hand I needed while reading the series.

1. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling Since I’ve just finished the Harry Potter series, it wouldn’t make sense to not include Harry Potter to this week’s list. I really love the map of Hogwarts in each book and I always find myself studying it before I start the book, even if I have seen it before in all the previous books. Especially in the first few books, the map helped me understand and scale where everything was within Hogwarts. I’m sure this map will come in handy when my letter for Hogwarts finally arrives. πŸ˜›

That’s all for this week folks!! Thanks so much for reading and I’m really sorry for the lack of posts, hopefully more will come soon!!

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Maps

Leave a Reply

