Book Tags

Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Character Tropes

Hi Everyone!

This week’s topic is for our favourite character tropes. I’ll admit that I had little idea of what ‘tropes’ meant but after some hard core googling I brought together a few of my favourites. I just want to let you know that I’m not 100% sure if there are well-known technical terms for each of these character tropes so I’m just going to describe them as best I can and I hope you guys will at least get the gist. Let’s start!!

5. Best Friends Fall In Love- Love, Rosie by Ceelia Ahern

Now this is a character trope which a lot of people really don’t like, and in lots of cases, neither do I. Love, Rose though was a perfect example of how this trope should be done. Alex and Rosie’s relationship throughout the book was realistic and the romance between them never felt forced. They made a super cute couple and throughout the entire book you were sure to root for them to get together. This definitely wasn’t a case where an author makes someone fall in love with their best friend just to add to the plot or create an unnecessary love triangle. Alex and Rosie’s romance really made sense and that’s probably what I liked most about it.

4. Bad Father-Son Relationships- The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

We probably all know an example of book/movie/TV show where the attractive male lead who is really tough and badass on the outside but on the inside is just a wounded puppy who has daddy issues. Now I’m not exactly sure if there’s a proper name, I have a feeling there is, but I can’t recall what it might be but I’m pretty sure you get where I’m coming from. Now I’m not going to talk about this too much since it may spoil some people but I’m talking about Jace’s relationship with his father. When Jace explained to Clary how his father treated him I’m sure I wasn’t the only one who felt totally sympathetic of him. But at the same time it never felt too forced and I liked how even though his father didn’t treat him right he still loved him in a sense and showed us that Jace was more ‘human’ then he might seem at first.

3. Side Character Providing Comedic Relief- Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

As you may have guessed, I’m talking about Kenji from the series. I really loved Kenji while reading the series and was always excited to see him in a scene. Don’t get me wrong, Kenji isn’t just a random character thrown into the series to make everyone laugh, he had a real purpose and well developed character. He also acted as a kind of friend/mentor figure to Juliette to help her reach her full potential. Though yes, he still is loads of fun and was a perfect edition to help lighten up the mood in such a serious situation. While I rarely dislike characters that provide comedic relief, I sometimes find it frustrating when they are put into the book or series for that reason alone. Part of the reason why I like Kenji so much was because this wasn’t an issue at all. Kenji was such a great addition to the series and is my second favourite character in the series.

2. Love Triangles- The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare

The Infernal Devices completely redefined love triangles for me and made me, dare I say it, hate them less. Normally I hate love triangles especially ones that have no purpose and are included into the story for no reason whatsoever. Like for god sake, you guys could be great friends! You could never be endgame anyway! Let’s also talk about the fact how they can often break apart fandoms and cause unnecessary feuds, come on everyone, a house divided against each other cannot stand! Anyway back to The Infernal Devices, Tessa, Will and Jem brought a completely different look to how love triangles work. The first thing I loved about it was how there was absolutely no hatred or rivalry between Will and Jem. Since they have been close friends their whole life I liked how even their mutual love for Tessa couldn’t ruin their relationship. Both men were so selfless and left the decision up to Tessa, not pressuring her, which made them so much more swoon worthy. I also loved how there was no clear teams or endgame. From what I gather most people, myself included, couldn’t choose which couple to root for and I sort of found myself not minding who Tessa ended with. So in short, this love triangle was practically perfect and a clear example of a love triangle done right!

1. Characters Hate Each Other Then Fall in Love- These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Megan Spooner

This is a character troupe that I normally really love to read about. To be honest, I have no idea why I love this idea so much but it’s just always been something I enjoy reading in books and watching in movies. Tarver and Lilac from These Broken Stars a perfect example of this. When they were thrown together after certain circumstances they hated each other and wanted nothing to do with each other. Though as they slowly started to spend more time together you could gradually see them fall in love. The little hopeless romantic in me couldn’t stop my heart from fluttering while reading this book. I liked how the romance wasn’t sped up so it was insta-love or anything like that. And along with the romance the characters were facing other problems that they were able to help each other face and get through. Basically Lilac and Tarver are the cutest couple ever who you’ll probably be shipping like crazy too once you read the book.

There we have it for this week! Hope you guys all got the gist of what I was trying to say for each character troupe. 😛 Leave a comment of what your favourite character troupes are. 🙂 Thanks for checking out my post and talk to you next time!!

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Character Tropes

  1. I will never get sick of hate at first sight turning into love — knowing These Broken Star features a relationship like that vaults it to the top of my TBR.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

