Book Tags

Top 5 Wednesday: Side Characters That Deserve Their Own Series

Hello!!

I was super exited when I first saw this week’s topic, which is side characters that deserve their own series. In a number of books I find myself liking a lot of the side characters more than the main ones so I’m super excited to share my picks with you. For most of these those I would just like to see a spin-off book or novella rather than a full series. Now authors/fan-fic writers, take notes because I’m sure I’ve got some great ideas here! 😉

5. Collins/Dawn from Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

Once finishing Since You’ve Been Gone I was instantly disappointed that we didn’t get to see more of these two characters. Throughout the book it is hinted that they will start going out together but it was a shame we never got to actually see this. While I feel like a whole series on them would be a little bit too much, I couldn’t say to just a standalone book or novella. If not this, I would settle for a cameo, hopefully in one or Morgan Matson’s upcoming books. 🙂

4. Lucien from A Court of Thornes and Roses by Sarah J Maas

Only the first book in the series is out and I’m already super intrigued by Lucien. While I’m sure he will appear in the rest of the series, what I’m really interested in is a prequel. I not going to talk about exactly what I would want in the prequel, so I don’t spoil anyone, but if you’ve read ACOTAR you should know what I mean. Lucien seems to have a very interesting backstory which I would be more than happy to learn more about. While I think a series would maybe be a bit much, a book or novella would be more then welcome as a prequel.

3. Haymitch or Finnick from The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

I feel like so much more could be written about any of the side characters in The Hunger Games but its Haymitch and Finnick’s stories that I’m particularly interested in. Even though they are completely separate, I had to mention both. First of all I’m super intrigued to hear what exactly went down before, during and after Haymitch’s time in The Hunger Games. I think it would be interesting but sad to see how he became the person he is during The Hunger Games. For Finnick, I would really like a story that concentrates on his and Annie’s backstory. While this probably wouldn’t be the happiest book, I still think it would be very cute and romantic to read about. I’d also be more than happy to learn more about how Finnick won his hunger games. I think maybe a series of novellas could be dedicated to specific parts of Haymitch’s and Finnick’s stories that would be particularly important, sort of like The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare. Please get on this Suzanne Collins!!

2. Mer from Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

I’m actually surprised this hasn’t happened already since it seems like a pretty perfect idea for another Stephanie Perkins book. If you haven’t read Anna and the French Kiss and really don’t want to be spoiled about anything you might want to just skip this part since I’ll be giving away just a tiny thing that happens at the end, so you’ve been warned!! But anyway, at the end of the book Mer goes off to study in Rome and wouldn’t it just be the most perfect book ever to follow her adventures there and have a possible romance. Mer is such an underappreciated character and I would seriously love to read more about her. In fact I’m personally offended that Stephanie Perkins hasn’t thought of this and already started getting to work on it and dedicating the book to me. 😉 I’m joking of course, but just imagine how amazing this book could be!

1. Leo Valdez from Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan

I’m sure it’s no surprise how much I love Leo. He was my favourite character in the series, equal only to Percy, and after series I was left just wanting to read more from his POV. Leo is such a great character that I don’t think it will even matter what the story is about whether it’s a spin off/continuation picking up where Blood of Olympus left off or just a look into his everyday life before the events of Heroes of Olympus it is still sure to be super entertaining and jam packed with laughs. Again, I could never get sick of Leo and wouldn’t turn down a chance to read an entire series just about him. Yes, I know I’m obsessed but that’s just what Leo does to you! So in short I miss Leo and need more of him ASAP!!!

There we have it, my list of side characters who I’d really like to see more from! What side character would you guys like to hear more from? Make sure to leave your answer in the comments!! Thank you all for reading and catch you all next time!! 😀

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

9 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Side Characters That Deserve Their Own Series

  1. Yes! I totally want to see a book series from Finnick or Haymitch’s POV, preferably from his time in the games – even better, I’m interested in Annie and how the game broke her mentally. Lucien’s story would also be so heartbreaking and amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my gosh, YES! Leo, my man. He deserves an entire series to be written for him. I want to see his back story is greater detail, become more intimate with his character 😉 and I WANT TO SEE LEO AND CALYPSO’S ADVENTURES!
    And Lucien is an amazing character that more than deserves his own series.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

