Book Reviews

Manga Classics: The Scarlet Letter Book Review

Manga Classics: The Scarlet Letter is a manga adaptation on the original classic by Nathaniel Hawthorne adapted by Crystal Chan and Stacy King and illustrated by SunNeko Lee. Thank you to the publishers, Udon Entertainment for allowing me to review this book on Net Galley. This book came out on the 10th of March 2015 and is available for you to all read today!

To give a brief background on what The Scarlet Letter is about, it’s set during the 17th century in America where a woman had an affair and then gave birth to a child. She is shamed for this and is forced to wear a scarlet A on her chest to show everyone that she had sinned. I actually knew nothing about The Scarlet Letter when I picked up this book and I felt like this was a nice simple way of experiencing a very complicated story.

I’ve never read any books set in the time period or place as this one so I found it quite interesting. I’m not exactly an expert on history and therefor had no idea that religion played a big part in people’s lives at the time and was surprised by how strict the Christian religion was. But it definitely opened my eyes to a whole new time period that I definitely would like to read more about.

One of the main problems I had with this book was the fact that it was an adapted as a manga. While this did make the story a whole lot quicker and easier to get through it also made it a little bit confusing and lacking details. Because the book felt so short I barely got time to learn about the characters and therefor didn’t have any particular feelings towards and found myself not really caring about them. At times I was also confused about what was happening or what had happened and I felt like bit more explanation was needed.

The artwork of the manga was also something I liked at times but at other times different. The number one issue I had was the fact that the characters never really seemed to age and so as the child, Pearl grew up she looked the same when she was three or four years old as she did when she was seven. That was really the issue I had and beside that found the artwork very appealing and surprisingly detailed. I also liked the fact that the letter ‘A’ was coloured in the illustrations while the rest was in black and white. I think this really symbolised the letters significance in the story.

As a whole this manga is still definitely worth a look at and something I would still recommend if you’d like a short, run down version of The Scarlet Letter. This manga has definitely got me interested in reading the actual novel hopefully at some point soon during my life.

Thanks again to the publishers for allowing me to review this book! Let me know if you’ve read The Scarlet Letter or are interested in reading the manga edition. 😀

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

2 thoughts on “Manga Classics: The Scarlet Letter Book Review

Leave a Reply

