Book Tags

Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Chapter Headers

Hey Guys!!

Today’s topic if favourite chapter headings, whether this be the font, design, art or actual title name it doesn’t matter so I did a mix on all of these. It actually took a little bit of time to look through all my books for this topic but in the end I came up with a pretty decent list. I’m excited to share them with you so let’s just start!

5. Girl Online by Zoe Sugg

The chapter headings aren’t particularly special but I just really liked the overall design of it which was simple but still nice. Each chapter is just called Chapter (blank) but it is printed in a really nice cursive font which is super sweet and I think really reflects the tone of the book. There are also a few stars surrounding the text which also adds to the cute look. To be honest I’m not completely sure why I really like these chapter headings but they’re nice to look at so I added them to this list. 😛

2. Delirium by Lauren Oliver

So first of all just like with Girl Online the chapters are simply called after their number. But again I really like the fine, looping cursive font of the text. There are also few silhouettes of birds surrounding the text which I personally think also goes with the themes of the book about freedom. And I’m not sure if this entirely counts, but after each chapter heading is a short quote somehow relating to the chapter or the book in general. While some quotes helped to explain certain aspects of the story others were just really nice and inspirational to read. While I don’t think this entirely counts as part of the chapter heading I’m just going to go ahead and count it anyway and see if you can stop me. 😛 The quotes are probably the main reason why Delirium got number 4 on my list.

3. Me, Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

One of the main things I remember about this book were the cool and hilarious chapter titles each chapter had. So there was no way this book wasn’t making it on this list. For each chapter the title was written on a type of board that I think they use in stage plays or puppet shows with strings hanging down to hold them up. You may have no idea what I’m talking about, in which case you should go and read the book to find out! Trust me, you won’t regret it!! But beside the cool art that definitely relates to the story there are also some super funny chapter titles. Examples include, Chapter 10- I Put the ‘Ass’ in ‘Cassanova’, Chapter 24- Pasty Teen Has Uneventful Day and Chapter 27- You and Me and a Perpetually Exploding Turkey Makes Three. If you think I’m joking and making these up, you’re wrong. In case you didn’t know this book is told in the point of view from an awkward and movie-loving teenage boy named Greg, which as you may see reflects the titles. So as you can see these title headings are awesome and are pretty unforgettable.

2. Percy Jackson and the Greek Gods by Rick Riordan

As I’m sure you all know, every book told from Percy’s perspective has completely hilarious chapter titles and this book is no different. While I could have looked at any book in the Percy Jackson series I chose this one since it is the one I read the most recently and remember the most from. I also didn’t feel like spending a couple of hours flipping through five books for the funniest chapter titles I could find because not only would that be a complete waste of time but there is also a chance I would die of laughter… So anyway… in this book Percy talks about the Greek gods and their origin according to various myths. The book is set out so each chapter is dedicated toward a god and obvious because Percy is Percy they are super amusing. Some of my personal favourites are, The Beginning and Stuff, The Golden Age of Cannibalism, Hestia Chooses Bachelor Number Zero and Hades Does Home Improvement. So as you can see, they are hilarious and there are more equally funny ones within the book. The font is also quite cool and has an appropriate Greek look to it. I’m super excited to read Percy Jackson and the Greek Heroes since I’m sure the chapter headings will be just as awesome, if not more so.

1. Life In Outer Space by Melissa Keil

This was the book I immediately thought of when I first saw this week’s topic. This book has some really great chapter titles but first let’s just take a moment to appreciate the art. Each chapter has a small picture of two laptops connected together which I thought was super cute and really related to the topic of the book. So on to the best part, the chapter headings. Again some of these chapter headings are hilarious and here are some of my favourites: Chapter 9-When the Theme Music from Jaws is Completely Inadequate, Chapter 10- When Punching People in the Face is a Great Idea and Chapter 13- Awkward Realisations (That Should Have Been Fairly Obvious). As you can see not only were the titles funny but they also gave a good clue on some of the events that would happen in the chapter. While reading, this made me super eager to continue and see how the events played out. Again, this book is also about an awkward, movie-loving teenage boy (are we seeing a pattern here) which also reflects in the titles. Some of the titles featured movie and other pop culture references which also added to the humour. So in short, these titles are the best and I wish my life could be written out in hilarious chapter headings like this one.

Thanks for stopping by and reading! Leave a comment on what your favourite chapter headings are and whether you agree with my picks!! I’m sorry for my lack of posts lately, but don’t worry more are coming very soon!! But until then… J

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Chapter Headers

Leave a Reply

