Book Tags

Top 5 Wednesday: Characters You Wish You Could Drown

Hey!

This week’s topic are book characters you wish you could drown. Writing this post was a little uncomfortable since I had to basically think carefully about all of the characters that I detest and try not to think about in my day to day life. Because of this some of my explanations are a little bit violent and extremes so yes, sorry about that… Just a warning there are a couple of spoilers things I mention but don’t worry I’ll let you know before I talk about them. So let’s rant about how much I hate these characters!!

The Emperor from The Winners Crime by Marie Rutkoski

I don’t want to talk too much about this one since I don’t want to spoil anyone but I basically hated the emperor the entire time I was reading this book. He was such a terrible and cruel person and is pretty much the worst ruler the country could ever have. I’m curious as to how his son will be and I really hope he’s not going to turn out as bad as his father since he seemed to be okay in the second book. But anyway, I’m looking forward to hopefully seeing the emperor get what he deserves in the last book in the series.

Adam Kent from Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

SPOILER ALERT FOR IGNITE ME!!!! It’s basically impossible to talk about my hatred for Adam without mildly spoiling Ignite Me so if you haven’t read it, it would probably be best to skip this section… I was one of those many people who started off actually liking Adam. Though of course as time went on he became increasingly more whiny and annoying. Especially in the last book he did a number of unforgivable things which made me really hate him. He also became super possessive over Juliette in the worst way possible making me hate him even more. It’s kind of a shame considering I really wanted to still like him but he just made it so damn hard. 😦 I still haven’t read Fracture Me and to be honest, probably never will just because I’ve heard enough about Adam already and could live my life contently without having read his novella.

Octavian from Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan

I’m pretty sure almost everyone in the entire world who has read Heroes of Olympus hates Octavian with a passion. In case you have no idea who Octavian is, he is a teddy bear murdering psycho who basically thinks he’s the best when really he’s a massive ass.  I feel like half of the problems the characters face in the series are all because of Octavian and could have been totally avoided if someone had just locked him up in some sort of demigod jail or something. I also hated how he made everyone believe he was so powerful and almighty and could predict the future when he really couldn’t. For god sake he’s not even a demigod!!! He’s a freaking fourth generation one!! How does he even have any powers FUL STOP let alone be able to predict the future and so on!!!! Basically he sucks and drowning him would be my pleasure.

Marcus Eaton from Divergent by Veroinca Roth

Now this kinda contains slight spoilers for Divergent so in case you don’t want to be spoiled just skip past this section. But anyway, Marcus was probably one of the first characters I ever had such a violent hatred for. The way he treated Tobias was not okay in any way shape or form and I felt so bad for Tobias that he was forced to be raised by such a terrible man. Drowning Marcus would be like a dream come true since while reading the series I would just constantly think of ways I wanted him to die… I don’t really know what else to say but I don’t think words could ever properly describe my hatred for him.

Sebastian Morgenstern from The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

If you haven’t read City of Glass, you may not want to read this because there could be mild spoilers… But anyway, my hatred for Sebastian is eternal. I don’t think I’ve ever felt such hate toward a character as I did toward Sebastian. I am still so shocked when people say they love him, and not just as a villain, like seriously? No! That’s not okay!! Throughout the series he did a bunch of terrible things and pretty much annoyed the hell out of me. And that’s not even to mention how freaking creepy he is and how he encourages incest with his sister in order to ‘strengthen their bloodline’. URGHH NO!!!! Now I know technically he is the way he is because of his demon blood but that still doesn’t make me sympathies with him in any possible way. Sorry…?? But being able to drown him would be amazing and would probably instantly make the world a much, much, MUCH better place!

Soooo that’s all for this week!  Sorry for being so angry and violent though you can go ahead and blame these characters for being so infuriating!! Comment what characters you would happily drown or if you agree with any of my picks. Thanks for reading and talk to you next time!!!

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Characters You Wish You Could Drown

  1. Oh my gosh! I can’t believe I missed out Octavian, Marcus and Sebastian! I would love to drown them too. Octavian angered me to the point of punching him through the book. If only. And Marcus is such a despicable father. The whole incest thing with Sebastian disgusted me and I can’t understand why people like him either and even love him! But everyone has their preferences I suppose.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

