Book Tags

Top 5 Wednesday: Books You Read In One Sitting

Hey Everyone!!

This weeks topic is books you read in one sitting. I don’t think I’ve actually ever read a book in one sitting considering that I’m a pretty slow reader and I don’t really like sitting down in one spot for hours at a time even when I’m reading. There are quite a few books though that I read in close to one sitting or within 24 hours at least. So I suppose I’m going to slightly change this topic to books I’ve read within 24 hours but anyway let’s start!

5. The Truth About Alice by Jennifer Mathieu

I read this book last year during booktube-a-thon and was able to finish it in less then a day. While I can’t remember exactly how many sittings I read it in but I do know it was only a couple. While I didn’t exactly love this book, it was still an interesting read and was different to most YA books I read. It basically follows a girl who is being bullied for apparently sleeping with two guys in one night. Then, when one of the boys dies, she is blamed for it. Although I did sympathise with the character there were times when she really started to annoy me, especially when she got mad at anyone who tried to be kind to her. To be honest I was surprised I managed to finish this book in one day but I would still recommend it if it sounds interesting to you.

4. The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han

Basically all three books in this series, and even all Jenny Han books, I’ve read considerable quickly. I’m pretty sure this one especially I read the fastest. Surprisingly, I didn’t really like this book as much either but I still found it a fun and easy summer read. If you would like to learn more about it then I have a review for it here. I think I also read this book within a day and had finished the whole series in about a week… I would still recommend this book if you’re looking for a light summer beach read for the summer.

3. Panic by Lauren Oliver

I was so surprised by how quickly I read this book. I think it was also within a day, if not 24 hours. I found this book super-fast-paced and I was constantly hanging off the end of my seat waiting to see what happened next. I think this was probably the main reason why I read it so fast. The book is about a competition held in a poor town where graduating seniors compete in a series of challenges in order to win money. I struggled to put this book down and had a super fun time reading it. There were times throughout the book though where I got super frustrated with all of the characters which definitely put down the book in my opinion. Overall this book was still a great read and I think a movie adaptation would be perfect for this book.

2. Me, Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

This I a perfect example of a book I didn’t think I would like but then ended up loving. One on the main reasons why I picked this book up over a year ago was because 1. Everyone seemed to love it and 2. I heard about an upcoming book to movie adaptation. I went into this book knowing almost nothing about it having no idea whether I would like it or not. I ended up reading it in 24 hours and by the time I was finished I was literally laughing and crying at the same time. I would 100% recommend you all read it, but just be warned I really don’t think this book is for everyone… I can’t tell you how excited I am for the movie adaptation which is coming out September 2nd here in Australia. 😦 Oh well at least I can fangirl over the trailers for now!! 😛

1. The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

I specifically remember reading this book toward the end of booktube-a-thon last year. I read the first few pages the night before and once I woke up the next morning I stayed in bed until 1pm and ended up reading most of it. That was probably the most I’ve ever read of a book in one sitting and to be honest I’m super proud of myself. 😛 Usually it takes me ages to read fantasy books and I was shocked by how easy this one was to read. I ended up finishing the book later that day and absolutely loving it!!!!! This series as quickly becoming one of my favourites and I can’t wait to read the final book in the series that comes out in less than a year!!!! 😀

That’s all I have for tp 5 Wednesday this week!! Thanks all for reading and leave a comment of what books you read in one sitting/ one day.

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books You Read In One Sitting

Leave a Reply

