Book Tags

Top 5 Wednesday: Books You Won’t Read, Ever

Hi!

Today’s topic for Tow 5 Wednesday are books that you won’t read, EVER! I usually don’t like saying that I’ll never read a book just in case at some point in the future I do decide to pick it up but these are all books that I’m definitely NOT planning on reading anytime in the immediate future and probably not ever. Before I get into this list I just want to say a quick disclaimer saying that lots of people really probably really love some of the books on this list and I’m not trying to hate on you or the book at all, I’m just going to be talking about why I personally don’t want to read this book and why I don’t think I would like them myself. I’m definitely not trying to say that these are terrible books you shouldn’t read so please don’t be offended by anything. Thanks for that, but now let’s jump into it!

5. Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

I’ve heard a lot of good things about this series and so many people seem to love it but for some reason it was never something that immediately caught my attention. From what I heard it does sound a little bit cheesy and not really something I would normally like, but of course since I haven’t read it I could be totally wrong. But because I’ve been super busy lately with school especially I haven’t got a lot of time to read books I’m not sure whether I’d like or not so for the time being at lease I would like to concentrate on books that appeal to me more than this one. Also the main reason why I added this book to my TBR in the first place was because lots of other people have read it. Recently I’ve been trying to read books that I think I’ll personally enjoy rather then just read certain books just because everyone else is reading them. But this decision isn’t totally finalised so if you really think I should read this book then feel free to convince me in the comments. 🙂

4. Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

There are actually quite a few reasons why I don’t want to read this series so lets get into them! 1. I’ve hear quite a few bad reviews. People also seem to especially dislike the main female character and often say she is annoying. Personally I don’t want to dedicate so much time to a four big book series if I’m not even sure I’ll like the main character. 2. I’ve actually seen a spoiler for the end of series and because of that I don’t really want to put myself through all the pain of reading the series. And 3. I’ve actually watched the movie for this one and I know it’s bad to judge a book by the movie but by learning about the storyline it just doesn’t seem like the type of book I would like to read. So for those main reasons and a few other smaller ones, I won’t be reading this series ever to be honest.

3. Twilight by Stephanie Meyer

I know the main storyline, I’ve watched the movie, and this definitely doesn’t seem like the type of book I’d like to read. I know a lot of people read this when they were young or around my age and really liked it but I’m frankly not interested in it at all. In my opinion I’ve got a lot of other books out there that are high on my to-read list that I would much rather be reading. Now, maybe 50 years later I may have the sudden urge to read Twilight (I highly doubt it but you never know) but until then I’m happier reading other books that don’t include creepy romances and sparkly vampires…

2. After by Anna Todd

Funnily enough I don’t hear a lot about After and what I do hear isn’t exactly the best. In case you weren’t aware After was originally posted on Wattpad as a One Direction fan-fiction. From what I heard the book is about the members of the band making a bet on who can sleep with the main character first. Just an added note, this is just what my friends have told me about it and this may be completely wrong so please correct me if so in the comments. But in my opinion this sounds like a terrible idea for a book that seems to be about objectifying women which is horrible considering the author herself is female. Beside that I have heard the writing of the book isn’t the best further convincing me not to read it. Also I have to mention how freaking thick these books are!! I think there are 4-5 books in the series which all seem to be over 500 pages!! Ain’t nobody got time for that! I do hear that a movie was being optioned and I may end up watching that eventually so there’s that… But in the end the chances of me reading this book is pretty much zero at this stage.

1. Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L James

So I get the feeling that this book will be on a number of people’s list so I’m going to keep my explanation short. Basically I’m not exactly interested in the topic and themes of the book just like I’m sure a bunch of other people. On top of that one of my friends explained to me how awful the writing in some of the books were which definitely ruled out any possible interests I had in reading this book. On the other hand I’m not entirely opposed against watching the movie but I probably won’t even do that for another couple of years.

There you go, my top 5 list! I hope I didn’t offend anyone and I’m really sorry if I did and feel free to rant about it in the comments if you’d like. J But let me know if you actually enjoyed any of these books and if I should reconsider not reading them. On the other hand let me know if you agree with me! Thanks for reading and talk to you all soon!!

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books You Won’t Read, Ever

  1. I totally agree with you on Beautiful Creatures. After seeing the movie, I didn’t feel at all inclined or interested to read the book. I read Twilight when I was probably 13 or younger and I think that although it was a thrill back then, for older audiences it may just be better to leave it to the young ones.
    And yes, I would also never read Fifty Shades of Grey. I own all three books after giving in to the hype randomly when everyone was raving about it. It wasn’t until I heard of what the book was about that I completely regretted it. And one of my friends found some of the parts in the book that were especially explicit and I knew I would not read it.
    Loved your response to this topic!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Haha yeah I’ll probably never get to read Beautiful Creatures and Twilight. And aww I’m glad I missed the beginning of the hype for the series otherwise I would have bought it too probably!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

