Book Tags

Top 5 Wednesday: Books You’d Want To See As TV Shows

Hello 🙂

For top 5 Wednesday this week the topic is books you would like to see adapted into TV shows and not movies. With the Shadowhunters currently in production (which I’m super excited about) now is the perfect time to do this topic. So without further ado let’s start!

5. The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken

I feel like this book would just make a super cool and entertaining show. While the idea of teens with special powers is seen pretty much everywhere I think having it in a TV format would make it more unique. I think it would also allow the story to be expanded making it easier to understand a lot of the specific details that would be a lot harder to do in a movie. I also think the road trip element of this book would be a lot more interesting to follow through a TV show. It’s just a shame that this series is being considered as a movie rather TV show. But don’t get me wrong, I would still be totally on board with a movie adaptation.

4. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Let’s just take a moment to think about how freaking awesome this book would be as a TV show. It would be so amazing with all of the action, magic, romance and everything else that’s in this series. Especially in the later books where there is a lot of switching point of views, having a TV show adaptations would allow the creators to show a lot more detail and be able to weave the story a whole lot better. While I’m not sure if a TV show for this would be very successful since I feel like everyone would compare it with Game of Thrones. Nevertheless sometime in the future it would be awesome to see this book as a TV show.

3. The Starbound Trilogy by Megan Spooner and Megan Kaufman

What’s even cooler about this one is that it’s already in the very early stages of adapted to television. While it took me a little while to come to terms with this idea I can now see it play out so well. The whole future space aspect is something that hasn’t been seen in TV for quite a while and mixing it with the epic romance would just make it 100% better. Also weaving together the series through the episodes and seasons would also be so much cooler to see as a tv show. Honestly I’m so excited to see this idea come through and I’m just more than a little upset that we haven’t heard much about the production stage yet. Fingers crossed it starts coming together ASAP!!

2. Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan

So Percy Jackson definitely wasn’t the best adaptation but I still feel like Rick Riordan’s series deserve a second chance on screen except this time, the small screen! And while seeing the Percy Jackson series as a TV show would be awesome I specifically went with Heroes of Olympus (the spin-off series) for this one. My main reason for this is the fact that I wasn’t sure who they would target the Percy Jackson TV show for. Cause while it is technically a children’s book I think making it a children’s TV show would just be strange especially in the later books/ seasons.  But on the other hand I wouldn’t want it to be super mature of violent since a lot of kids wouldn’t be able to watch it. So that’s why I went with Heroes of Olympus. Heroes of Olympus could easily be targeted towards teens since it’s a young adult book and the characters themselves are teenagers. I would also be so excited to see all the new characters come to life on screen. But since Heroes of Olympus is quite a long complicated series I’m sure that TV would be so much better at faithfully adapting the book. Although I really doubt that this would ever happen *tries to hold back tears* I fangirl can dream, am I right?

1. The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare

Funny story about this one actually, last year on April Fool’s Day this poster went around saying The Infernal Devices would be turned into a CW TV show. And since it was April Fool’s Day I didn’t exactly believe it right away but it get my hopes up for 2 seconds. Unfortunately, of course, this turned out to just be a prank. 😦 But nevertheless with Shadowhunters in the works The Infernal Devices TV show could definitely be a thing. If Shadowhunters goes really well, maybe The Infernal Devices could even be tied in to the same show which I think would be a whole lot cooler. But anyway I actually liked The Infernal Devices a whole lot better than the Mortal Instruments and I also believe that The Infernal Devices TV show has a whole lot more potential of being more successful considering how unique and entertaining it is. Like seriously, how often do you see a supernatural steampunk paranormal show? Anyway seeing this TV show would be like a dream come true and I’d be completely over the moon if this ever happened so fingers crossed!!

That’s all for this week people! Comment what book you’d like to see as a TV show! Thanks for reading and I’ll talk to you next time!!!

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books You’d Want To See As TV Shows

  1. I totally agree with the Throne of Glass series and the Heroes of Olympus series becoming a TV show! They would be awesome as TV shows. Loved your picks! xoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

