Book Reviews

One True Thing Book Review

One True Thing is a young adult contempory novel written by Australian author Nicole Hayes. Thank you to Random House Publishing on Net Galley for giving this book to review. Here is the synopsis of the book off Goodreads…

When is a secret not a secret? When your whole life is public. Frankie is used to being a politician’s daughter, but it’s election time, so life’s crazier than usual. Add a best friend who’s being weirdly distant, a brother to worry about, and the fact that Frankie’s just humiliated herself in front of a hot guy – who later turns up at band practice to interview her about her music. Jake seems to like Frankie – really like her. But then everything crumbles. Photos appear of Frankie’s mum having secret meetings with a younger man – and she refuses to tell the public why. With her family falling apart around her, Frankie is determined to find out the truth – even if it means losing Jake.

What really convinced me to pick up this book was the concept of it. I’ve never read a book before where the main character’s parent is a politician or anything like that and it struck me how interesting that sounded. I thought it would be cool to have an inside look into what the family of a politician may look like and how their job could affect the family. In this case the book definitely gave me what I was looking for which was a nice surprise.

The book discussed quite serious issues that are involved in politics that I never really thought of such as publicity and the media. I had never really thought about how these things can effect politicians and their families. There were numerous times throughout the book where we got to see how the bad messages toward Frankie’s mum affected her and the family. It also made me really look up to the family since they were still able to keep their cool and hold their heads up high even in really tough situations.

One part of the book that didn’t quite meet my expectations was the romance. While it was nice to read about I was surprised by how little the book concentrated on it. From the blurb it seemed like the entire book would revolve around the romance when it really didn’t. I also felt like the story of the romance was rushed especially toward the last quarter of the book where the romance was hardly there at all. While I’m totally fine with a book having little romance in it I think it was annoying to advertise this book as a romance when it really wasn’t.

Overall One True Thing was an interesting and entertaining book but nothing particularly special. I really liked how the book tugged at your heartstrings and made you really feel for the family through all the tough times they go through. And while the book wasn’t perfect it was still a very satisfying read. I would still recommend this book if it sounds like something you’d like and I think it would be the perfect book if you’re looking for a cute, light read. I’d recommend this book a solid 3.5 out of 5 stars. Thanks again to the publishers, Random House Australia from Net Galley for letting me review this book. In case you’re interested in reading this it comes out on the 1st of May which is this week!

Thank you for checking out my review, I really hope you enjoyed it! Leave a comment below sharing your thoughts on One True Thing or if you’re interested in reading it!

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

Leave a Reply

