Book Tags

Top 5 Wednesday: Books That Feature Travelling

Hi Everyone!

This week’s top 5 Wednesday topic is books that feature travelling. I love books that feature travelling and road trips. It wasn’t really until I started picking books for this post that I realised I hadn’t actually read that many… But fortunately I still managed to pick a top 5 so let’s begin.

5. After The End by Amy Plum

This is a book that was really hyped up before it came out and when it eventually was released I heard nothing about it. Late last year I managed to read it and while I didn’t love it I still really enjoyed it. In the story the main character (who has a strange I can’t remember) travels from Alaska to America I’m pretty sure. Long story short, she is trying to find her tribe that was kidnapped and taken away. I’m sorry I can’t written more about it I just have a super bad memory and forgot a lot of the details. I do remember that there was a sort of road trip part of the book that was quite fun to read though. Even though the book wasn’t amazing it was still an entertaining read and I would still recommend that you check it out.

4. Amy and Rodger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

I’m pretty sure this book is going to be on a lot of people’s lists so I’ll try and keep it short on mine. Basically the main character Amy has to go with the son of her mum’s friend Rodger across the country to drive Amy’s mum’s car to their new house. Amy’s mum set up a direct route for them to take but Amy and Rodger decide to take a big detour and have a fun adventure. The book was still fun to read but there were still quite a few serious moments and was actually quite emotional. Although this isn’t my favourite Morgan Matson book it was still an amazing read and I would highly recommend it if you haven’t read it yet.

3. Paper Towns by John Green

My favourite part of this book was definitely the road trip. I don’t want to say too much in case I spoil any of you but the characters needed to drive across the country within a couple of hours for a certain reason. It was really fun following the characters as they struggled to stay on schedule by calculating how long they could stop for at each stop. If you have yet to read Paper Towns now is the perfect time to finally read it with the movie coming out soon! I loved the scene in the trailer where they showed the characters rushing about during the road trip. I’m so excited to see this scene on the big screen in only a couple of months!!

2. A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

So I don’t know about you guys but travelling through different dimensions is definitely my favourite type of travelling. I absolutely loved all of the different alternate universes in the story and the world building of each one. It was super unique and interesting and my favourite part about this book. If you haven’t gotten your hands on this book yet, you better, ASAP! Plus its gorgeous cover is worth buying on its own. I’m so excited to read the next book in the series where there is sure to be lots more travelling!

1. Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan

I wasn’t sure whether to pick Percy Jackson or Heroes of Olympus for number one since I love them both and they both feature a fair amount of travelling. Though in the end I picked Heroes of Olympus just because of the places the characters travel to. In the book the demigods travel around Europe on a giant flying ship trying to save the world. Seriously, what could possibly be better than that! I loved all the adventures the characters went through at each stop and all the challenges the characters had to face. It was also really interesting to hear about all of the places they went to and the book really made me want to go to Europe as well. If you still haven’t yet, I beg of you, please read this series, you definitely won’t regret it!

That’s all for this week. 🙂 Let me know what your favourite travelling book is or if you agree with any of my picks. Thanks for checking out my post and talk to you next time! 😀

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books That Feature Travelling

Leave a Reply

