Book Reviews

We All Looked Up Book Review

‘We All Looked Up’ is a contempory young adult novel by debut author Tommy Wallach. It is told through the point of view of four different teenagers when it has just been announced that a meteor is set to hit Earth. So begins their story of trying to live a full life in the days they have left while the rest of the world starts falling apart. I got a review copy of this book from the publisher on Net Galley and read the book just before it came out. It was released on the 31st of March so it’s already available for you guys to buy by the time this review comes up. I just want to say thank you to the publishers for letting me review the book and also sorry that it’s a few days late!

When I first heard about this book, last year on some teen website, I immediately got excited for it and added it to my TBR list. I really enjoy reading apocalyptic books and this one sounded really intriguing. So of course when I saw it on net galley, requested to review it and then got accepted I was super happy and excited to jump into the book. Unfortunately I got really busy so I wasn’t able to read it as soon as I wanted to but I was able to get to it finally and I’m so glad I did!

So I did briefly explain it at the start but I’ll just elaborate on it a little more. If you’re interested I linked the book trailer which I also enjoyed and gives you a good idea about what the stories about. As I said it follows four completely different teenagers. First there’s Peter who is the schools star athlete and pretty much one of the most popular people at their high school. Although he seems like a typical jock he’s a lot kinder and more thoughtful and wants to do something more with his life. We then have Eliza who is unfortunately known for her reputation for ‘sleeping around’ because of some certain history she and Peter had a year before the story is set. Next we have Andy who is a really chilled and relaxed slacker kind of guy. And finally we have Anita who is a sort of over-achiever whose parents are always pressuring her to succeed life but in their way. Though all Anita wants to do is sing and make music which her parents detest and won’t allow.

The character point of view switched each chapter and was done quite successfully. I hardly ever found myself wanting to skip a certain point of view which is quite rare. Although I loved all of the characters my favourite was probably Anita who I felt like a related to the most. I loved the contrast between all of the characters and the relationships they all formed. It was really nice to see especially in the current situation they were in. This was probably my favourite part of the book and one of the top reasons why I liked it as much as I did.

One aspect of the story that I also enjoyed was how it made you think. It wasn’t like a John Green book that made you think all throughout it until your brain hurts. But it made you think just enough so that you were intrigued but not tired out.

I also liked the certain setting, the whole end of the world situation. As I said I love apocalyptic book and I especially liked in this book how we got to see the world slowly falling apart this was terrifying and upsetting but also really interesting to see. It made me realise that in the case of this situation the things that way that everyone reacted would be the way that people would react in real life. This added a sense of realism to the book which was again quite terrifying.

The simplicity of the book also made me really like it. Although it wasn’t dead simple and as I said it still made you think I liked how it wasn’t over complicated with too many twists and turns. I like how it was simple but not heavy or completely empty.

I would definitely recommend this book to everyone though I’m warning you that this isn’t exactly a book for everybody. Although I really loved it I can see the possibility of others disliking it so I’d say if you are planning on checking it out I would recommend you just keep it in mind. Though please don’t let this turn you off from reading it. I’m sure everyone will find something they love about this book and that it will interest everyone somehow.

In case you need any extra convincing the book reminded me of the UK TV show ‘Skins’ in a sort of apocalyptic ending. Also since I’m currently watching Skins I was sort of matching up all of the Skins characters with characters from this book.

So yes definitely check this book out ASAP!! Thanks again to the publisher Simon and Schuster for giving me this review. And again this book is out right now so it’s available to read this second of you’re interested! Thanks for checking out my review. 🙂

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

2 thoughts on “We All Looked Up Book Review

Leave a Reply

