Book Reviews

Extraordinary Means Book Review

Extraordinary Means by Robyn Schnider is a contempory young adult novel coming out on June 1st in the UK and Australia and May 26th in USA. Thank you to Simon and Schuster (Australia) on Net Galley for letting me read this book in exchange for an honest review.

The story follows seventeen year old Lane who is diagnosed with an incurable strain of tuberculosis. Because of this he is sent to Latham House a part boarding school, part hospital for teens with tuberculosis. At Latham House Lane happens to meet Sadie, a girl who he first met at summer camp many years ago. Soon the two of them strike a close friendship and start falling for each other. With Sadie and her group of friends Lane starts to enjoy staying at Latham more and more. Though as their group of friends start getting sicker their world threatens to collapse around them.

Extraordinary Means is generally describes as The Fault in Our Stars mixed with Looking For Alaska which I agree with though at the same time is still something on its own. I enjoyed reading this book so much and it definitely left a deep mark on me which I doubt will disappear anytime soon.

My favourite thing about this book was definitely the complexity and varieties of the characters. It was really interesting to see various people of different personality’s all thrown into the same terrible situations. I really enjoyed all the scenes with Lane and Sadie and their entire group of friends. I loved their how close they all were and how much they obviously cared about each other and understood each other. It was really nice to see friends this close and I really envied their friendship.

Another part of the book was all the dark humour. Yes, the book deals with a pretty serious topic but I liked how all of the humour kept the book light and not too depressing. I found myself laughing out loud quite a few times during this book which was really a pleasant surprise for me.

What threw me off a bit about the book though was the romance. Although I did completely root for it and I loved Sadie and Lane together how they actually got together in the first place confused me. One moment they were just friends and the next they were making out and admitting that they loved each other. I really wish that there had been more stepping stones between the two so it would have been clearer as to how this happened.

I also had a bit of an issue with the pacing of the book which is also why I didn’t rate this book 5 out of 5 stars. At the start I absolutely flew through the book which was great though when I reached about the 50% mark the book got slightly more tiresome and I felt like it dragged on a little bit. Luckily it really picked up again in the end and I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough.

Although I did have a couple of issues with the book I still rate it a solid 4 out of 5 stars. In the end I didn’t expect to like this book as much as I did which was a great surprise. I would definitely recommend it if you’re looking for a slightly darker contempory which will still get you laughing out loud. Just a reminder this book comes out on the 1st of June in the UK and Australia and the 26th of May in the USA.

Let me know what your thoughts on this book are if you’ve read it and if you’re planning on doing so. Also has anyone read any of Robyn Schnider’s other books and enjoyed them?

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

 

3 thoughts on “Extraordinary Means Book Review

Leave a Reply

