Book Tags

Top 5 Wednesday – Best Charater Arcs

Hey guys!

Sorry this is a day or two late. I’ve just been super busy and my Internet hasn’t been working well over the last couple of days. I know I also promised to write some more posts but again super busy, mostly with school, so I haven’t been able to get to that unfortunately but hopefully this weekend. But now back to top 5 Wednesday. As you can see today’s topic is best character arcs. In books I absolutely love watching characters grow and mature so it was quite easy for me to pick my top 5. But without further ado lets start.

5. Emily from Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

I read this book a couple of months ago and completely fell in love with the book and the character development that Emily, the main character went through. At the start of the book I really related to Emily. She was shy and awkward and really struggled to talk to anyone without her friend by her side. As the book progressed though she slowly gains confidence and starts facing her fears. Because of this she no longer relied so heavily on her best friend as she did before. Her transformation was really inspirational and I very much admire her change.

4. Clary from The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

At the start of the series Clary was such an annoying selfish stubborn girl that it really made me dislike the series. Luckily the much needed character development kicked in leading to this series becoming one if my favourites. As the series progressed Clary became a lot more bearable and interesting to read about. In the first couple of books Clary made plenty of rash decisions and while she sill occasionally makes mistakes in theatre books you cant deny her sense of judgement has highly improved. I also loved how she grew in terms strength and skill in the Shadowhunter department especially by City of Lost Souls it was awesome to see how kick-ass she’d become.

3. Ruby from The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken

Here I am again mentioning The Darkest Minds during my top 5 Wednesday post, but oh well it definitely deserves it. Ruby’a character development in my opinion anyway was more about her power then her personality. Ruby at the start of the series was absolutely terrified of her power and what she could do. Throughout the series and especially during the book she learns more and more about using her power and how to own and accept it instead of being afraid of it. This development was such an amazing change and made me really look up to and love Ruby for it.

2. Lilac from These Broken Stars by Aime Kaufman and Megan Spooner

When I first started reading These Broken Stars I really disliked Lilac and thought she was quite typically ‘girly’ and weak. Even though she technically wasn’t that bad I just really didn’t like her personality though. As the story processes though she slowly became a strong and admirable character who I surprising started to really love. I read this book quite a while ago so I’m probably not explaining this in the best way but seriously if you haven’t read These Broken Stars yet read it!!

1. Juliette from Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Juliette’s character development during the series was completely unbelievable and unexpected making it absolutely amazing. A lot of people complain the Juliette was really whiny and annoying in the first book or so and I definitely see where everyone was coming from. It’s quite hard to talk about her character development in much detail without spoiling the series but ill jut say this. Juliette definitely had a number or surprises up her sleeve which made her an indestructible powerhouse at the end of the series which was freaking amazing!!!

There we have it, my top 5. Sorry again for not actually posting this late and for really neglecting to post recently. Hopefully ill be able to make up for it over the next week or so! πŸ™‚

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Best Charater Arcs

    1. Yeah, Clary was still pretty badass at the beginning but she definitely got even more awesome. And I haven’t yet read bloodlines and I’ve only read the first VA book but I’m hoping to get to all of them soon!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

