Book Tags

Top 5 Wednesday- Books Set Where You Live

Hello!

This weeks top 5 wedensday topic are the top 5 books that take place in your country/region/area. Since I live ‘down under’ in Australia this topic was a little difficult for me since I ashamedly don’t read many books set in Australia. I was though, able to make this list (just) so I hope you enjoy!! I’m also really glad to share this list since it will hopefully introduce you to some new authors and books that I love that you may not have heard about yet. πŸ™‚

5. Zac and Mia by A.J. Betts

I feel like this is one of those books which you either love or hate. When I picked it up I had heard lots of mixed reviews and when I read it myself I could definately see why. The stroy is in some ways a bit like The Fault In Our Stars by John Green but I personally thought it reminded me more of Side Effects May Vary by Julie Murphy. In short, the book is about 2 characters with cancer who are coming to terms with their illness. What really brought the book down for me was Mia’s character. In short she was very annoying especially toward the start of teh book though her character definately does improve over the book making the book overall a lot more enjouable. Oh and in case you haven’t realised by now the book is set in Australia, Perth to be specific. Although it’s hardly one of the best books I’ve read, it’s definately one of the best books I’ve read set in Australia.

4. The First Third by Will Kostakis

The First Third was a hilarious story that was based around a Greek family. I purely picked this book up becuase of all the praise my friends were giving it. I loved loved all the characters in teh book and really liked how they were developed and it felt like I knew them all super well even though the book was pretty short. This is also one of those books which are based more around family then romance which was a nice change. Also have I mentioned that it’s hilarious. Serious though, I waswould have to stop reading at times because I was laughing so hard. Again this book is set in Australia and I’m prety sure in Melbourne. I would definately recommend you pick this book up if you love a good contempory book, you won’t be dissapointed!!

3. The Incredible Adventurs of Cinnamon Girl by Melissa Keil

I only read this book back in December and I did a full review on it which you can read here if you want to know more but here’s just a short summary. Basically it’s set in some small town in Australia which I’m pretty sure is in New South Wales. This book was just super cute and funny like all Melissa Keil books and of course very nerdy and relatable. If you’re a fan of cute contempories, READ IT! If you’re a comic book fan, READ IT! If you love books or anything in general, JUST READ IT!!! Melissa Keil is one of my all time favourite authors and even though this sin’t my favourite book of her’s that doesn’t mean I didn’t absolutely adore it.

2. The Sky So Heavy by Claire Zorn

To be 100% honest when I first picked up this book I didn’t have the highest hopes so I was completely blown away. Trust me, this book has multiple amazing reviews and tons of awards for a reason!!! This si the book on the list that is set closest to hwere I live. It’s set in the blue Mountians which is near Sydney in Australia. It’s basically an apocolyptic book with super relatable charactr and a weirdly realistic plot. Throughout the whole book everything that happened felt like exactly what would ahppen if the book was real and everything the characters did felt like exactly what I would do too. If you haven’t read this book yet then you should stop everything and pick it up now. Also I was lucky enought o listen to a talk that Claire Zorn did at my school and she was super nice and funny. πŸ™‚ I also can’t wait to read her latest book which I haven’t gotten round to reading yet.

1. Life In Outer Space by Melissa Keil

Let’s now travel back to Melbourne where this book is set. This probably comes with no surprise that this is on teh top of my list. I feel like I fangirl over this book way too much to be considered normal, but who cares, here I am once more praising this book. Life In Outer Spcae is hilarious, cute and super relatable and is probably one the best contempories you will ever read. It’s fulll of funny and nerdy movie references that makes you fell super cool when you understand. IF you haven’t read this book I don’t even know how you’re living with yoruse;f. Just please, PLEASE, PLEASE READ IT NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Haha so now that I’ve finished that crazy fangirl rant… I hope you’ve enjoyed this weeks post. I’m sorry I haven’t been posting any reviews I’ve just been super busy with school but don’t worry one will be comming yoru way soon! πŸ™‚ Thanks for everything and be sure to comment your thoughts on any of these books!!

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday- Books Set Where You Live

  1. Awesome post! I’m a fellow Australian, I live in Perth! I want to read more books set in Australia so I’m glad to get some recommendations from this post! The books also sound quite good!
    I’ve only read two books set in Australia – one was called All The Birds Singing by Evie Wyld, which was a wonderful short read with beautiful writing, the other is Jasper Jones, which I’m currently reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! And hi from Sydney!! πŸ™‚ I haven’t hear much about either of those books so I’ll have to look into them more. Glad you got some good recommendations they’re all definitely worth a read!!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

