Book Reviews

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies Book Review

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies is a parody of the novel Pride and Prejudice, by Jane Austen, written by Seth Grahame-Smith.

The story follows the exact same plot line as Pride and Prejudice except of course with the addition of zombies, or more commonly known by the characters as ‘unmentionables’. In the book the world has been cursed by the undead coming to eat brains and take the lives of the living. Unfortunately the disease is spreading and more and more unmentionables are being formed. The Bennet sisters and many others have been trained to serve the queen and kill the dreadful zombies to hopefully provide a better future for Britain. I had such a fun time reading the book though it was quite different from what I expected.

I was quite surprised to see that the book followed the exact same story line and even the exact wording of Pride and Prejudice with only minimal inclusions of zombie slaying awesomeness. Although it was pretty funny remembering lines from the classic being edited to include weapons and zombies it soon got a little boring and repetitive. Although at first it was funny and entertaining it quickly got old and reading the book because dull considering that there were only a few changes to the original story. It made the whole zombie aspect seem pointless and I definitely think the idea wasn’t explored and expanded upon as much as it could have been.

Another thing that annoyed me at first was how annoying Elizabeth was. For the first half of the book she would get angry at everyone for ‘insulting her honour’ and would talk about how she would have to be-head them. The first couple of times this was quite amusing but again, it quickly got old and very repetitive. As the book went on I either started to get used to her and no longer noticed this or she started to become a little less proud which was either a huge relief.

Now onto some things I liked about the book, because yes, those exist as well. 🙂

As I mentioned there were multiple times during the book where I laughed out loud at how ridiculous and funny the concept was. It was quite hilarious picturing the characters chopping off the heads of zombies and with blood spilling over their fancy dresses.

I also love how bad-ass the Bennet sisters were specifically Elizabeth. (Wow that’s a sentence I never thought I would say…) I loved all of the action scenes with her in them and all of the smart tricks she had up her sleeve to defeat her enemy’s. It was also nice to see how dedicated the Bennett sisters were to zombie slaying especially at the end, excluding Lydia of course. It was a nice change instead of them just talking about boys and getting married.

Another part of the book I loved was how all of the characters got what they deserved in the end which was a nice change for once. It felt like a great achievement to see characters like Mr Wickham, Mr Collins and Catherine de Bourgh. It also greatly added to the humour of the book.

Finally what I also appreciated about the book was of course, Mr Darcy. Dare I say, I liked him a bit more in this version then in the original… Haha I’m not 100% sure about that one but something about a zombie-slaying Mr Darcy definitely made him seem a LOT more attractive. 😉

Overall I wouldn’t really recommend reading this book at all. Though if you really want to know what happens, I’m ashamed to say this, but you can really just wait for the movie to come out… Yes, unfortunately I feel like this one time not reading the book before watching the movie would be no big deal. My other suggestion is to read the graphic novel version which I’ve read a bit of and really enjoyed. Plus it was a lot quicker and more fun to get through. And just as an added note if you’re absolutely determined to read this book, I really don’t think it’s necessary to read Pride and Prejudice first and will probably be enjoyable if you don’t, though may not be as amusing.

Because of all the reasons above I’m only going to rate this book a 3.5 out of five stars which I’m rounding down to 3 stars on Goodreads.

Just quickly I just want to mention how excited I am for the movie which is set to come out toward the end of the year, in case you didn’t know. J Although I thought the book was way less than perfect I feel like the movie could end up being hilarious if done right but on the other hand could end up terribly cheesy if not. But with the cast including actors such as Lilly James, Douglas Booth, Suki Waterhouse and Matt Smith my expectations are very high! Also I’m curious to see what it will be rated considering how graphic some of the action scenes seemed to be. Oh well I guess we just have to wait and see! 😀

Sneak Peek at Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

Let me know your thoughts on Pride and Prejudice and Zombies and if you still plan to read the book before the movie comes out. Also tell me how excited you are for the movie on a scale of 1-10. Obviously a 10 from me!!! 😉

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

Leave a Reply

