Book Reviews

Let It Snow Book Review

Let It Snow is a collection of 3 short stories by Maureen Johnson, John Green and Lauren Myracle. Each short story followed a different set of characters though all the stories smartly weaved together throughout the book.

All the stories take place in one town on Christmas Eve-Boxing Day while the biggest blizzard in years has hit. Since the stories are separate I’ll break up my review into mini-reviews for each story and than say my overall thoughts at the end. So here we go!

The Jubilee Express by Maureen Johnson

This story was definitely by far my favourite out of the three. It followed Jubilee who had planned to spend Christmas Eve with her perfect boyfriend when her parents end up arrested and she is forced to stay at her grandparents’ house. On the way there the train gets delayed by snow on the tracks and Jubilee and is forced to take cover at a nearby Waffle House along with a boy named Jeb and 14 cheerleaders. At the Waffle House she meets a boy named Stewart who she starts to like the more and more she knows him. This story was definitely the cutest and funniest. I absolutely loved Jubilee and thought she was hilarious. The romance was also super adorable and fun to read about. All the unique characters were so funny and entertaining to read about not excluding Stewart’s mum who was hilarious. I haven’t read anything by Maureen Johnson yet (beside the Bane Chronicles which she co-wrote) but this story definitely made me want to. I’d rate this story a very well deserved 5 out of 5 stars.

A Cheertastic Christmas Miracle by John Green

This story was my second favourite story in the book. Tobin, Angela (most commonly known as Duke and JP are in the middle of a James Bond marathon when they get a call from their friend Keun who’s working that night at the Waffle House. Keun reports that 14 cheerleaders have come and that his friends must come immediately the other employees friends get there. So begins a race for Tobin and his friends to reach the Waffle House during the blizzard. What surprised me at first was how different it felt to John Green’s other books. In his other books his characters have a habit of being walking thesauruses though this definitely wasn’t the case in this book. As the story went on it did become a bit more John Green like and the story definitely had his style of being crazy and fun. One thing that I didn’t really like about the story was the romance. It just felt a little unbelievable that the characters had never even thought of each other in a more then friends was before that night. They were still very cute though but still couldn’t compare to Stewart and Jubilee in my opinion. 😛 But beside that the story was probably the most crazy and entertaining and probably the most light-hearted thing I have ever read by John Green. I’m rating this story 4.25 stars since it wasn’t perfect but still an awesome read.

The Patron Saint of Pigs by Lauren Myracle

Unfortunately this was my least favourite story in the collection but don’t get me wrong it was still a good read. Addie has just broken up with her ex-boyfriend Jeb after she accidently cheated on him. She of course is still in love with him and spends her whole Christmas in her room moping over him. The day after Christmas though she’s given the job to pick up her friend’s Christmas present, a pig. While she’s on this mission she starts to learn more about herself and how she could possibly get back together with Jeb. As I’m sure a lot of people did I started out disliking Addie for being so self-absorbed but of course after the gradual character development I started to like her more. The character development was pretty incredible, how quickly Addie went from being self-centred to selfless within a few hours. I did really like learning about Jeb though and the ending was adorable. I also loved how all the stories got wrapped up in the end like the best present ever. J I did wish we got to see more of Addie and Jeb being happily together especially the events after the story. Although this book hasn’t gotten me particularly busting to read another book by Lauren Myracle I am still interested in reading one hopefully in the near future. I’m only going to rate this book 3.5 stars since it was a fun read but not a particularly amazing one.

Overall I’d rate the whole book 4.25 stars out of 5. I flew through this book especially the first half but the last story did bring the story down in my opinion anyway. All the stories were entertaining and cute though and everything I love in short stories. I especially loved how they all came together at the end and how all of the stories intertwined at many different point during the story it was so cute and cool to read about. If you haven’t read this yet then I would definitely recommend it. It’s sure to get you in the Christmas spirit no matter what time of year it is. I would especially recommend it if you like My True Love Gave To Me edited by Stephanie Perkins with a bunch of short stories from lots of different young adult authors or if you’re looking for a kind of young adult book version of the movie Love Actually. 😀

Let me know if you’ve read Let It Snow yet and what your favourite story is. I’d love to know!

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

4 thoughts on “Let It Snow Book Review

  1. Great review! I totally agree with you with the romances, and The Jubilee Express was my favourite. I don’t know if you found this, but I began to get confused nearer the end about who was who, because the characters were in each others stories. Fab book though!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

