Book Reviews

Popular: Vintage Wisdom For A Modern Geek Book Review

Popular: Vintage Wisdom for A Modern Geek is an autobiography by Maya Van Wagenen. It takes place during her last year of middle school. At the beginning of the school year she finds a guide written in the 1950’s by Betty Cornell on how to be popular. She decides to follow all of the advice in the book 60 years later and see if she still ends up popular.

I really really loved this book and I was able to fly through it. I did think that it was slightly over hyped and it did raise my expectations super high which made it pretty much impossible to reach. Though even though at first the book wasn’t really what I expected it to be it quickly went up the list especially during the second half of the book.

Maya’s whole story really inspired me in so many ways which I think is one of the reasons why I really loved the book. I loved how brave she became throughout the book and some of the things she did I definitely wouldn’t be able to do now let alone when I was in grade 8 almost two years ago. This book also made me really want to put more effort into talking to other people I wouldn’t normally talk to and try and be more friendly and kind like Maya was.

The whole message of the book about popularity was meaningful and I think the actual meaning of popularity and what makes someone popular is something that most people forget.

As well as being inspired by Maya to be more social and less of an introvert it’s also inspiring to see how far she came from being a ‘social outcast’ to being on the list of Time’s list of Most Influential Teens. I also felt really proud of her for becoming a successful author (which got signed up for a movie deal which is just incredible) even though I’ve never met her, though would really love to.

Most people wish they had read this book earlier when they were in middle school but even though I’m in High School now I’m really glad I read it now. I would 100% recommend you read this book no matter how old or young you are I’m sure almost everyone can relate to Maya. I’m going to rate it a very well deserved 4.5 out of 5 stars!

I’m super excited to hear more from Maya in the near future and read her new book coming out as well as hopefully a movie adaptation for this book (fingers crossed). Make sure to comment what you thought of this book if you’ve read it (if not you better get on it soon)!!!!!

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

Leave a Reply

