Book Reviews

Percy Jackson and The Lightning Theif & The Sea of Monsters Graphic Novels Review

Percy Jackson and The Olympians: The Lightning Thief and Percy Jackson and the Olympians: Sea of Monsters are both graphic novel adaptations of Rick Riordan’s books with the same title.

It was fun to re-live the adventures of Percy in a different way. I was able these both super quickly which also made it really fun to read.

They were quite good adaptations of the novel and although they did leave out a few big lines here and there all of the major plot points were left in, which is more than I can say for the movie. I also liked a couple of the comedy that was added into the graphic novel that I can’t remember being in the original books.

One issue I had with the novels though was the art style. Although I did really like the colourful pictures and seeing some of the monsters in action the majority of the characters looked NOTHING like they were described in the book or how I had pictured them at all. The second book I’m pretty sure was illustrated by another artist who I think I liked their style a little bit better but not by much… Although this was quite frustrating I was still glad that the characters were still quite recognisable and they were drawn in colour so I didn’t have any confusion over who was who like I often do in other graphic novels.

Another thing about that slightly disappointed me was the fact that all of Percy’s sass and pretty much every funny line in the book were completely abolished. I understand though that it would have been super hard to include in a graphic novel but it still was disappointing. It was like they got Percy’s character and completely stripped him of everything that made him lovable and unique.

I was also upset about the total lack of ANY Percabeth moments!!! Again though I know Percabeth wasn’t exactly the main focus in the first couple of books.

Overall they were still really entertaining to read and I’m still really glad I gave them a go. I rated The Lightning Thief 3.5 out of 5 stars and I rated Sea of Monsters 4 stars out of 5 stars.

I would recommend these if you really love the Percy Jackson series and want to re-live the series without having to re-read the entire book.

I’m hoping I can find a copy of The Titan’s Curse graphic novel or The Lost Hero graphic novel which I’m super excited to read.

Let me know if you’ve read these graphic novels and what you thought of them in the comments. I’ve also been trying to get into more graphic novel books lately and it would be great if you could recommend some of your favourite graphic novels! Thanks heaps! ๐Ÿ˜€

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock

Leave a Reply

