Book Reviews

Since You’ve Been Gone by Mary Jennifer Payne Book Review

Since You’ve Been Gone is the debut young adult novel of author Mary Jennifer Payne. This book was given to me by the publisher’s on Net Galley in exchange for an honest review. The book will be coming out later this year on the 17th of February.21509074

The book is about 15 year old Edie who has been moving with her mum, Sydney for the last 15 years. This time Edie and her mum have moved countries from Canada to England. Her mum tells her that this time they’ll be able to have a fresh start but Edie doubts they’ll stay for long. Soon after they arrive though

Sydney disappears leaving Edie by herself in the new unfamiliar of London.

Overall it was an entertaining book to read but wasn’t really anything special, in my opinion anyway. The book was quite fast paced and I did have a hard time putting the book down once I got into it.

The book dealt with many dark themes such as domestic violence and racism which I felt were handled very well. I don’t remember reading a book that dealt with some of the themes in this book so it was interesting to read about them.

While saying this let me mention that this was definitely not a happy feel good contempory. There were a few times during the book where I would tear up and I felt really bad for a lot of the characters and all the tough things they had to go through.

Another part of the book I liked was the writing style. It was really realistic and explained the characters feelings, especially Edie’s so well it felt like you were feeling them first hand yourself.

One issue I had with the book was how short and rushed it was. I wished that we had learnt more about the minor characters in the book such as Edie’s past friends and the new friends she had just made.

Another issue I had was the sort of insta love romance. Well, to be fair neither character actually said they loved each other but it felt ridiculous how one day Edie hated and was terrified of certain love interest and the very next morning she had the biggest crush on him. It just felt really rushed and for me anyway I didn’t feel like there was any kind of stepping stone between hating him and liking him.

I would still recommend checking this book out since it was still a highly entertaining and mysterious read. But again just warning you only read this book if you are prepared to read a book that has a lot darker themes then most young adult contempory books. I rated this book 3.25 stars out of 5. I’m looking forward to reading more by Mary Jennifer Payne in the near future and I would definitely not object to a sequel or spin off story.

If you’re interested in reading this book it comes out on the 17th of February in case you missed it the first time. πŸ™‚

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

Leave a Reply

