Book Reviews

This Night So Dark Book Review

This Night So Dark is a short novella for the Starbound Trilogy, written by Aime Kaufman and Megan Spooner. It follow Tarver the main character from These Broken Stars before the events of the first book. In the book Tarver tells the story of how he got to be known as the hero he is which lead to him being on the Icarus in the first place.

It was interesting seeing Tarver before all of the events of These Broken Stars and he did seem a lot younger in this novella even though I’m pretty sure it was not long before These Broken Stars. It also keeps surprising me how young he is. It’s crazy to think of a 19 year old going through all the things he had to go through.

It was also surprising to see how what he became known as a hero for wasn’t as big a feat as I thought it was and that he still made some mistakes. I found it sad that he felt like he wasn’t fully worthy of the award since a few people he tried to save had still died.

There’s not much more I can say since this was such a short story but it definitely reminded me just how much I ship Lilac and Tarver!!!

I would definitely recommend this if you liked These Broken Stars. Plus this book is free on any place where e-books are found so no harm in getting it πŸ™‚ I think I’m only going to rate it 3.5 stars though since it was a little bit hard to get into and such a short story but beside that I really liked it.

Let me know in the comments if you’ve read this story and what you thought of it!!!

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

Leave a Reply

