Book Reviews

Since You’ve Been Gone Book Review

Since You’ve Been Gone is a young adult contempory book by Morgan Matson. Morgan Matson has written three books and out of those I’ve read two (this one and Amy and Rodger’s Epic Detour). Although I did enjoy Amy and Rodger’s Epic Detour I enjoyed this book a whole lot more!

In Since You’ve Been Gone, Emily’s best friend, Sloane has gone missing at the start of the summer and Emily has no idea where she went. Sloane had always been the more outgoing and confident out of the two of them and Emily is now struggling, being left by herself with no other friends over the summer. That is until Emily receives a list in the mail from Sloane with 13 tasks for Emily to complete which she definitely wouldn’t normally do. Emily then sets out to complete all of the tasks hoping it will lead her back to Sloane.

I really loved this book and I thought it was the perfect summer read. I really liked all of the characters since they all felt so real and genuine. I could also really relate to Emily for the most part since I’m pretty much just as shy as her if not worse… I really liked how as the book went on we learnt more and more about the characters until it felt that you were friends with them as well. I also really loved the character development of Emily that progressed really well throughout the book.

Beside Emily I really like Frank, who becomes her close friend over the summer. I really loved how he was obsessed with the Beatles and the competitions he had with his friend Collins over who was the biggest fan. He was also just so polite and caring that you can’t help but love him. When we were only 100 pages in I was already majorly shipping him with Emily.

Another aspect of the book I really liked was the playlists. Whenever Frank and Emily went running together it would show the playlists that they were listening to. It was really cool to see what music they liked even though I only knew a couple of the songs that they were listening to.

I also really liked all the different themes in the book. I liked how friendship was the main theme in a contempory young adult book instead of romance. Even though there is quite a bit of romance the friendship theme was more important. I also liked how the characters talked about how it’s hard to be friends with someone in a relationship since you’re always second choice. I’m sure this would be super relatable to a lot of people and it made me feel really bad for Collins, who I really liked. There were also themes about cheating when in a relationship was addressed. I think that it was really unfair to put the blame for cheating on just one person, regardless of who kissed who first, it takes two to tango.

A part of the book I didn’t like as much were the long flashbacks to either last summer or just a few months ago. It was nice to see Emily and Sloane’s friendship first-hand but it was just a little annoying when I was so into what was happening in the present just to be sucked back into a long flashback. I do realise they were necessary though and told the history of their friendship but I probably would have liked it better if Emily just explained it quickly.

One more thing, as you have probably already heard there is a cameo of characters from Amy and Rodgers Epic Detour. I did hear about this before and was super excited about it. While reading the book though I totally forgot about it and skipped right past it. I had to go back and find the cameo part. I’m just warning you, it’s not that fantastic and you barely even get to see the character they’re really just mentioned. Sorry, I just wanted to warn you so didn’t get too disappointed. πŸ™‚

As you can probably see I really did enjoy this book and was really upset when I turned the last page. I’m crossing my fingers hoping there will be a sequel or at least a cameo in Morgan’s next book. But I would 100% recommend you this book for a fun and light-hearted summer read. In a well-ordered universe I would have to give this book 4.5 out of 5 stars. πŸ˜›

Comment down below what you thought of this book and comment which Morgan Matson book is your favourite!

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

Leave a Reply

