Book Reviews

The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl Book Review

The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl is the second book by Australian author Melissa Keil. It follows Sarah Jane Albany who everyone just calls Alba. Alba lives in a small country town closest to the city Melbourne. The book is set the summer after she has graduated from High School and is still unsure what she wants to do with her life or whether to stay in her home town or go to the city. As well as that she has to deal with a possible end upcoming apocalypse and a reappearance of her other childhood best friend.

Alba works at her mother’s bakery in their small town and really loved baking. She is also a massive fan of comic books and is a talented artist who wants to create her own comic. She then created Cinnamon Girl, a super hero of her own, who she tries to create a comic book of throughout the novel.

I loved this book! It was such a short and fun book which I flew through during the Christmas Booktube-A-Thon. I also really liked all of the characters and how they all grew and their relationships all developed during the book. I didn’t like this book as much as Melissa Keil’s other book, Life In Outer Space, but that book set a super hard bar which I didn’t expect this book to meet no matter how good it was. But don’t get me wrong this book was still fantastic.

I would definitely 100% recommend this book. Alba was quite a relatable character, not so much to me but I’m sure many people out there would really relate to her. I also couldn’t help but love her.

I also really liked the other characters as well in her group of friends. I’ll talk a little bit about each of them.

First of all, Grady. Grady has been Alba’s best friend since they were babies. They grew up by each other’s sides and are basically inseparable. I really loved Grady, and especially his relationship with Alby. I didn’t think his character was developed as much as it probably could have been but he was still really great and absolutely lovable and often made me want to just give him a hug.

Another one of Alba’s friends were her two girl friends Tia and Caroline. Tia and Caroline were almost complete opposites. Tia wants to be a fashion designer and is more gentle and shy. Caroline though just wants to get out of town, no matter what the reason. She’s also a lot tougher and more outspoken then Tia.

Tia is dating another member of their group, Peter. Peter was really cute and nerdy which is probably why I probably really liked him. It was also super funny how much he wanted to be a ninja and he wanted Alby to draw him as one. I also really liked his relationship with Tia. If there was to be a sequel or spin-off book I would really like to hear about them.

The last person in their group was Eddie. At first I didn’t really like Eddie but he really grew on me. I also loved how hilarious his dad was and how his dad wanted more and more tourists to stay on his farm.

I think what made all of the characters lovable though was how real they were. You could see flaws in all of the characters which made me feel like I really knew them making me really love them. This was one thing I actually think was done better in this book

In the story one of the many problems the characters are faced is the fact that the end of the world may be coming in just a few weeks. Because of this funny twist to a contempory book it made me extra eager to keep turning the pages and see what would happen making the book even more enjoyable.

So far the book definitely hasn’t got half as much recognition as it should. I highly recommend reading this as soon as possible!!! I rated it a greatly deserved 4.5 out of 5 stars.

Comment down below if you’ve read this book because I would really love to talk about it!!!

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

One thought on “The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl Book Review

Leave a Reply

