Book Reviews

It’s Not Summer Without You Book Review

It’s Not Summer Without You is the second book in the Summer series by Jenny Han. This book follows the same characters from The Summer I Turned Pretty except is set the next summer one year later.

I will try and keep this review as spoiler free as possible but if you haven’t read the first book I wouldn’t recommend reading this. If you would like, you can check out my review for The Summer I Turned Pretty here so if you haven’t read The Summer I Turned Pretty I would leave now and come back when you finish reading 🙂 . Thank you!

As I mentioned, this book is set one year after the first book in the series. Belly has just finished her junior year of high school and is about to turn 17.

I think I liked this book the best out of all the books in the series (I’ve already read the last book, We’ll Always Have Summer). I think I read this book faster than the other two as well and I’m pretty sure I finished it within only a few hours.

I again had quite a few issues with a lot of the characters. Let’s start with Belly. At times Belly annoyed me so much it was ridiculous. Because of a certain event, she became extra grouchy and super annoying. She would always blame her negative attitude because of this event but I think she failed to realise that quite a few people were going through the same things and weren’t being half as mean as she was. There were also quite a few times during the book where she would be super mean and snappy especially toward Taylor, her friend and especially Conrad. This again made me really dislike her.

So Conrad… Conrad really confused me in this book. He would act really nice to Belly one day and then be a complete jerk to her the next. This really annoyed me and made me very eager to punch him! Beside that I really don’t have much to say about him except his ‘mood swings’ really got on my nerves.

Jeremiah in this book also changed a little. Because of the same certain event he wasn’t as light and funny anymore which is understandable. Though, take notes Belly and Conrad, even though he was upset he wasn’t a total jerk and was still kind and caring toward everyone. In this book I really did ship Jeremiah with Belly since he really did seem like the best choice for her. I was also really pleasantly surprised to see there was Jeremiah POV’s. Reading from his POV also made me really like him more.

My favourite character in this book was without a doubt, Belly’s mum. I loved how strong she was and how she stood up to the boy’s father when no one else did. It lead to one of the most amusing scenes in the book. I was also really surprised to see her relationship with Conrad really develop. It was nice to see how much Conrad looked up to her.

Another character who I started to like a bit better in this book was Taylor. Although I still don’t get how Taylor and Belly ever became friends you could see that Taylor really did care about Belly. You could tell that Taylor really had good intentions when she tried to make Belly feel better even though what she actually said and did hardly helped.

Of course with this book the love triangle continued. It annoyed me so much the number of times Belly would say that she was over Conrad or that she hated him then a few minutes later she say she would always love him. Of course with this book Belly also realises she has feelings for Jeremiah and yet again we go through this super annoying process of Belly trying to sort through her feelings. By this book I was pretty much done with love triangles and would be 100% happy if I never had to read a book with a love triangle again.

I still think this book was my favourite but I’m only rating it 3.75 stars out of five. This series is a quick read if you’re just looking for a book to fly through but the story had me really ready to pull my hair out at times.

I would still recommend reading this book though, if you’ve read the other books. Although I have talked a lot about what I didn’t like about this book I still had an enjoyable time reading it! 😀

Stay tuned for my book review of the last book in the series, We’ll Always Have Summer!

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

Leave a Reply

