Book Tags

The Grinch Book Tag

MERRY CHRISTMAS EVERYONE!!!!
I hope you’re all have/had a great Christmas and got heaps of presents!! ๐Ÿ˜€ To celebrate the amazing day I’ll be doing yet another Christmas related book tag, The Grinch Book Tag. I’m not sure who created this tag but I’ve seen it going around the booktube community and really liked the questions. Without further ado,ย let’s just jump straight into the questions!ย ๐Ÿ™‚

Question 1: Half of the lights on the Christmas tree are burnt out: Name a book/series/character that started out good but then went downhill.
Definitely the Divergent series. When I first read the series I could hardly tell because I was so obsessed with it but after hearing many reviews I realised that the series did go downhill. The last book had quite a few plot holes and the pacing of the books slowed down. Tris also did start to annoy me by Allegiant as well.

Question 2: Annoying Great Aunt Sally who will not leave you alone: Name a book that you didn’t enjoy, but everyone else seems to love so it never goes away.
I think the reason why I didn’t like this book was because I was in a reading slump while reading it and it just wasn’t what I was in the mood for but The Book Thief. I am planning on re-reading this book though and I’m sure I’ll like it a lot better so please don’t kill me…

Question 3: Your pets keep knocking over the Christmas decoration: Name a character that kept messing things up for everyone else (can’t pick a villain!)
It took me a while to think of a character but I’m going to go with Natalie from the book Panic by Lauren Oliver. She was just a super annoying character who I wanted to punch in the face at multiple times during the book.

Question 4: You hear your parents putting out the presents and learn Santa isn’t real: Name a book you were spoiled for.
I’ve been spoiled on pretty much every second book that I read but the first one that comes to mind is Allegiant. Except it was my fault since as soon as I head the rumours about ‘you know what’ I looked it up to see if it was true. Thinking back to it now it was a really stupid thing to do. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Question 5: It’s freezing outside: Name a main character you just couldn’t connect with.
Since I just finished this series, Belly (Isabel) from The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han. I found her super frustrating and annoying for most of the book. In most of the reviews I have seen for this series everyone mentions how relatable Belly is but I just didnโ€™t. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Question 6: Mariah Carey’s ‘All I Want for Christmas is You’ and it’s giving you anti-romantic feelings : Name a couple you couldn’t stand.
I couldn’t think of any book I read where I really hated the couple. I did just recently watch the Twilight movies though and I couldn’t stand Bella and Jacob but to be honest Bella and Edward were almost just as cringe-worthy.

Question 7: That scratchy homemade wool sweater you got for Christmas years ago but won’t get rid of: show some books that have been sitting on your shelves for a while, and you aren’t motivated to read, but you don’t have the heart to get rid of.
Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver. I bought this book about a year ago but I’ve never had an urge to read it and I don’t think I ever will…

Question 8: Grandma Got Run Over by a Reindeer: Name a character death you still are mad about (warn people for spoilers! You can also use TV or movie deaths)
SPOILERS FOR THE INFERNAL DEVICES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!!!!!! LOOK AWAY NOW OR FORREVER REGRET IT!!!! (DON’T MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE AS ME)……………………………………………..Okay so I’m assuming you’ve all read The Infernal Devices, you awesome people ๐Ÿ™‚ but even just thinking about the death of a certain Herondale never fails to make me tear up.

Question 9: The malls are overly crowded with holiday shoppers: Name a series that has too many books in it/went on too long.
Some of you may hate me for this but The Mortal Instruments. Don’t get me wrong I still loved the series and all of the books but I think the series would have been better if the last three books were classified as a different series and had different main characters (not Clary and Jace).

Question 10: The Grinch: Name a main character you HATE (No villains again!)
Alice from Side Effects May Vary by Julie Murphy. Alice was just super annoying and again made me want to punch her at multiple times. She was super ungrateful and treated her one best friend really badly. There was some character development but still not enough in my opinion.

There you go, the Grinch book tag! Wishing you a very Merry Christmas!!

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

Leave a Reply

