Book Reviews

The Bane Chronicles Book Review

The Bane Chronicles is a collection of short stories following the incredible Magnus Bane written by Casandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan and Maureen Johnson.

Each story takes place at a different point in Magnus’ life. Some of the stories are light hearted and fun while others are more serious and take place during important events the Shadowhunter’s history.

Overall I really enjoyed all of the stories though some definitely more so than others. I liked hearing more about Magnus’ life and seeing his interactions with a lot of the other characters from the other books in the Shadowhunter Chronicles.

The book also really showed how nice Magnus was which to be honest was quite surprising. I also never realised how big a role Magnus played in a lot of the key events of Shadowhunter and Downworlder history.

I’m going to go through each story and do a quick summary of each story and what I thought about it.

What Really Happened in Peru by Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan

This story told the many different times Magnus visited Peru and all the crazy adventures he got up to. This was one of the funnier, light-hearted stories. It was entertaining to read though it was confusing how the story kept jumping from different centuries and the ending was a little disappointing. Nevertheless it was a great story to start off the book and I rated it 3.5 stars out of 5.

The Runaway Queen by Cassandra Clare and Maureen Johnson This story was set in France during the time of the French Revolution. The story tells of the role he played in helping the royal family. This story was super funny and I really liked how the story wove in to a big part of history. In this story It was also fun to learn a bit more about Magnus and learn more about the extent of his powers. I rated this story 4 out of 5 stars.

Vampires, Scones and Edmund Herondale by Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan This story was probably my favourite and I really love the title :). This told the story of when Magnus met Edmund Herondale, who you may know of as William Herondale’s father. It also takes place when the Accords between the Shadowhunters and Downworlders were first discussed. As well as all that, this was when Magnus met Camille who plays a big part in The Mortal Instruments. The book was still quite fun but there were some darker themes to it especially having to do with Shadowhunter laws. I really loved all of the characters beside Magnus. I instantly fell in love with Edmund so no surprise there (come on, he’s a Herondale). It was also interesting to see Camille from Magnus’ point of view. She didn’t even see half as evil as she did in the later books. We also saw Charlotte from The Infernal Devices when she was little which was extremely cute. The story was also really the first look, for me anyway, to how kind and caring Magnus really was. In this book we also meet a mermaid. I don’t even remember mermaids even being mentioned in previous books so it was a little bit of a surprise. All in all I loved this story and rated it 5 out of 5 stars!!!!

The Midnight Heir by Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan This story followed yet another Herondale, James, the son of Will. This story was basically a sneak peek of what’s to come in The Last Hours. It also introduced a sort of new villain, Tatiana Blackthorn who you may recognise if you’ve read Clockwork Princess. We also meet Tatiana’s daughter, Grace who I assume will play quite a big part in The Last Hours. There were also heaps of cameos here from characters in the Infernal Devices including Will, Jem and Tessa. Again I was surprised to see how kind and caring Magnus was and it was great to see how much his relationship with the Herondale’s had developed. I do warn you though DO NOT READ THS BOOK IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THE INFERNAL DEVICES!!!! This may be pretty obvious but I’ll warn you just in case. Overall this story really intrigued me and has me super hyped up (even more so than before) for The Last Hours which is why I rated it 4 and a half stars out of 5 stars.

The Rise of Hotel Dumort by Cassandra Clare and Maureen Johnson

This story was set during the 1920’s, just before and during the great depression. Magnus is now living in New York and is settling in well in to the time period. I don’t want to give away too much and spoil the story but this one was considerably darker than the others so far. Again I really liked how deeply the story tied in with a major part of history. It was also interesting to learn the origins of Hotel Dumort which you may recognise from City of Bones. This story was quite factual but definitely wasn’t the most entertaining so I rated the story 3.25 stars out of 5.

Saving Raphael Santiago by Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan

This was another one of my favourites from the collection. It followed Magnus meeting and helping Raphael Santiago, who you probably already know is a pretty big character in the Mortal Instruments. In the story Raphael has just been turned into a vampire and Magnus had been hired to save him by Raphael’s mother. In City of Heavenly Fire I think it was Luke who described Raphael as a bit like Loki from Thor, I don’t think I could agree more. During the last few books in the Mortal Instruments I started to really like Raphael and I was super curious about his friendship with Magnus. In this book it was great to see Magnus taking Raphael under his wing even though Raphael wasn’t so willing. I again really liked how caring and warm Magnus was even to people he hardly knew, such as Raphael’s mother. It was also really interesting to see how powerful and influential Raphael was and how quickly he was able to rise into a powerful position. Also his friendship with Ragnor Fell was just hilarious! I really enjoyed this story and rated it 4 out of 5 stars.

The Fall of Hotel Dumort by Cassandra Clare and Maureen Johnson This was another one of the darker stories, if not the darkest. It took place during the 1970’s and revolved mostly around the vampires and also about Magnus’ past relationship with Camille. I did find this story a little depressing which is probably why I didn’t like it. It did come with a few surprises though especially about Camille and the vampires. It also made me feel really sorry for Magnus, to hear that he still had feelings for Camille. I really did like learning about this time in history though which we never heard about in the other books since the Shadowhunters didn’t know about any of this. I rated the story 3 out of 5 stars.

What to Buy a Shadowhunter Who Has Everything (And Who You’re Not Officially Dating Anyway) by Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan

This story takes place while Magnus and Alec are starting to date and Magnus is having trouble deciding what to buy Alec for his birthday. The story was really funny and cute and definitely reminded me how much I ship Magnus and Alec. I also loved seeing Isabelle again and hearing Magnus talk about all the other characters in the Mortal Instruments was hilarious! I really enjoyed this story though it didn’t really serve much of a purpose besides making me laugh so I rated it 4 out of 5 stars.

The Last Stand of the New York Institute by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan and Maureen Johnson

This story told of Valentine and the Circle. It was set when the Circle had just been created and most of the circle members were in their early twenties. The Circle members were killing off Downworlders which is how Magnus got involved. Magnus also gets to meet characters like Luke and Stephen Herondale (the one Herondale I really don’t like). The story also tells of how Jocelyn got help from Magnus to remove Clary’s memory and where their surname Fray came from. I was surprised by how violent and terrible the Circle was. I did know that the Circle was evil but it was completely different seeing their evil acts first hand. I think this story was probably the most important story to read and it has made me eager to read the upcoming graphic novel being written about the Circle. I ended up rating this story 3.75 stars out of 5.

 

The Course of True Love (And First Dates) by Cassandra Clare

Just another adorable Magnus and Alec story about their first date. It was super cute and hilarious and was probably the most entertaining out of all the novellas in terms of which one made me laugh the most. It also made me really like Alec more, hearing about Alec from Magnus’ point of view. All I can say is there better be more Malec in The Dark Artifices. Anyway, I rated the story 4.25 stars out of 5 stars.

The Voicemail of Magnus Bane by Cassandra Clare

This story was just Magnus’ voicemail after a certain event that happens during City of Lost Souls. This is a bonus story that you can get when you get the full Bane Chronicles books. It was really funny hearing all the voicemails especially the ones from Izzy and Simon. I can’t say too much since I don’t want to spoil you but although this story was fun it was sad thinking about what caused this to happen in City of Lost Souls. It was just a short story which I rated 4.5 stars.

Overall I really loved reading all about Magnus in this collection and I can’t wait to hear more from him in the upcoming books. I rated the entire book 4 stars out of 5. I would definitely recommend this book though especially if you are a big fan of the Shadowhunter Chronicles and Magnus Bane! 😀 Comment down below if you’ve read any of these and which one is your favourite so we can talk about all things Malec and glitter related. 🙂

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

Leave a Reply

