Book Tags

Top 5 Wednesday- Top Historical Books

Click here to view the Goodreads Top 5 Wednesday group. For Top 5 Wednesday today the topic is top historical books. This basically just means any book that is set at any point in history. I don’t read a whole lot of historical fiction so this list was quite hard to come up but nevertheless here we go!

5. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and Hollow City by Ransom Riggs

I’m not going to talk about this one too much since I don’t want to spoil you but if you’ve read the book you’ll know what I mean. But I did really like the various points in history that parts of the book were set.

4. Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

So technically this book is only set in 1999 which isn’t that long ago but I’m still counting it. One of the main themes of the book are the emails that are sent between the characters. It was funny seeing a time when emailing had recently been invented and how far email and technology in general have grown and developed since then.

3. Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

This is one of my favourite books of all time and happens to take place in 1986. Although it didn’t make a huge change to the story, it was still interesting to see the differences between teenager’s lives then and teenager’s lives now. For the most part it was quite similar beside the obvious lack of technology back then, for example throughout the story we see Park using his Walkman. I think the fact that it wasn’t set in modern day added a uniqueness to the story which I feel made it as successful and loved as it is.

2. The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick

This is another one of my favourite books that I first read a few years ago. The book is set in 1931 in Paris. The pictures in the book really helped set the unique scene as did the text descriptions. Again it made the book more unique and I don’t think I would have liked this book as much without its distinctive setting. Also if you haven’t checked out the movie you should definitely watch it. It captures the setting, at least for me anyway, absolutely perfectly!

1. The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare

As you may probably know by now this is my favourite series of all time so of course it had to come in as number 1. This book is set in 1878 in London. For me personally, the characters really made the story what it is but the setting still played a big part in the story. This series is what originally made me eager to pick up historical fiction since I used to think historical fiction would be super confusing so was very intimidated by it. This book has made me really come to appreciate the time period and all the fashion and books they had at the time 🙂 I also really want to visit London now and see the Blackfairs Bridge after reading this book…

So there are my top 5 historical books. I know not all of them were really that historical but I still haven’t read that much historical fiction yet, which is a shame. Comment down below what your favourite historical book is and any recommendations you have! 😀

Leave a Reply

