Book Reviews

The Summer I Turned Pretty Book Review

The The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han is the first book in a trilogy of the same name. Belly, short for Isabel has gone to her mum’s best friend’s summer house for as long as she can remember. The summer has always been her favourite time of the year and also the only time she gets to meet her mum’s best friend’s two sons, Jeremiah and Conrad. Belly has always been in love with Conrad though over the last summer she had gotten quite close with Jeremiah. This summer Bella has finally grown and is ready for a summer where everything changes.

I have been wanting to read this book for months now since everyone who reads it seems to absolutely love it. I also it heard it was a quick summer read which is exactly what I needed. I read the book in less than 24 hours which is really rare for me. I really enjoyed the book but I defiantly didn’t like it as much as everyone else seemed to. Don’t get me wrong, I still really liked reading the book but I did have a couple of issues with it.

One of the main issues I had was the characters. Everyone talks about how amazing the characters are and how relatable they were. Although all of the characters had their moments I was mad with all of the characters at least once during the book. Let’ start with Belly. I felt really sorry for Belly a lot of the time because she was continuously being left out and ignored by the two boys and her brother. But beside that I felt sort of annoyed with Belly. It felt like she always said the wrong thing and she was quite selfish and she did seem to think the world rotated around her even more so than Conrad in my opinion.

At the start I didn’t like Conrad because he too seemed pretty selfish and was a massive jerk. As the book went on though I did start to like him better and it was justified as to why he was acting thet way he was. Jeremiah was my favourite character. I loved how he always tried to cheer everyone up and was described as the jester of the group. He was the one who was the nicest toward Belly and the nicest in general. My other favourite character was also the boy’s mum, Susannah. I loved how she was like a second mum to Belly and how caring she was toward both her own family and Belly’s.

Another part of the book I didn’t like was the romance, or should I say the multiple love interests. I really hated how there was not two, but three possible love interests in the book which was just ridiculous! I’m getting really sick of love triangles, or well technically love square especially when they’re not needed and one character is a clear winner.

Nevertheless, I still liked the book even though it probably doesn’t sound like it. I would also recommend this book especially if you love young adult contempory books and are looking for a short beach summer read. I’m going to rate this book 3.75 stars out of 5 round up to 4 stars on Goodreads. I do plan on continuing the series even though I was spoiled for the next books (thanks a lot Wikipedia) 😦 I have also heard about how this book was optioned to become a TV series which I think would be really cool and I hope this actually happens.

Comment down below your thoughts if you’ve read the book and who your favourite character was. Stay tuned for my reviews for the rest of the series!

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

One thought on “The Summer I Turned Pretty Book Review

Leave a Reply

