Book Reviews

Girl Online Book Review

Girl Online is Zoe Sugg, more commonly known as Zoella’s first book. I’m sure by now everyone has heard about Zoe’s ghost-writer. I’ve done a separate post about my thoughts which I will link here. In this review I will be reviewing just the book without acknowledging the fact that Zoe didn’t fully write it herself.

So Girl Online follows 15 year old Penny who created a blog where she could be completely honest about herself under the anonymous name ‘Girl Online’. While Penny’s blog gets more and more popular though her real life isn’t going quite so successfully. That is until one day Penny’s family get the chance to go to New York as part of her mom’s job as a wedding planner. While Penny is in New York her whole life starts to change when she meets a cute boy called Noah and her confidence slowly starts to grow. Penny is finally starting to think that her life is perfect and blogs anonymously about Noah online. Though soon she learns that not everything is as perfect as it seems and Noah has some secrets of his own.

I did end up really liking Girl Online and one of the things I really liked about it was the cute vibe of the story. Yes, at times the cheesiness was a little over the top but for the most part there was just the perfect about of cheese 🙂 Of course though this is coming from a teenage girl who doesn’t mind some cheesiness once in a while.

I’ve read a few other reviews of the book saying that since Penny was only 15 she was quite immature. Even though I am younger than Penny, 14, almost 15 😉 I did sort of see what people were talking about. Though beside that I really liked Penny. I loved reading about a character who like me was always awkward and clumsy. I also liked her character development from thinking she was nothing, to having Noah convince her that she is a lot more than that and then realising she doesn’t need Noah to make her feel confident and strong. I did also like Noah’s character but not as much as Penny’s. Although he was 18 he didn’t really act like it, in fact most of the tie it was hard to tell that they were different ages at all. I did like how kind and caring he was and how he helped Penny take the first steps to becoming more confident. Their relationship was very cute but at times felt a lot like insta-love. Penny talked about him being her soul mate when they were only together for a few days. Even after just a few hours together Penny and even Noah acted like it was true love. I was also quite suspicious of Noah because he hardly told Penny anything which I won’t go into but if you read the book you’ll find out! 😉

I also really loved Penny’s relationship with her family who were so supportive and kind I couldn’t help but love them. I especially loved the part more toward the end of the book where her brother Tom was so protective and caring of her which really made me like him since we hardly ever heard anything about him for most of the book. And of course I can’t forget to talk about Elliot her best friend. I think Elliot must have been my favourite character in the book. I loved how he knew so much about everything and would always share these random and interesting facts with Penny. I also liked his dramatic flair and his awesome fashion sense. 😛

I also really loved the message shared in the book about being online. My favourite quote in the book was “Every time you post something online you have a choice. You can either make it something that adds to the happiness levels in the world- or you can make it something that takes away.” I thought it was a great message that really summed up the book as a whole.

I would definitely recommend this book but only to people who really like YA contempory books because I’m pretty sure you would like this book the most. I would also recommend this book for younger teenagers, such as teens who are just starting to read young adult books. The book is also fast paced making it feel super short which would be perfect for people who don’t read often. I would rate the book 3.5 stars. It was definitely a fun and entertaining read which was cute and light-hearted but not exactly one of my favourites. Let me know if you’ve read this book and what you thought about it in the comments 🙂

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

2 thoughts on “Girl Online Book Review

Leave a Reply

