Book Reviews

A Thousand Pieces Of You Book Review

 

A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Grey is the first book in a new young adult sci-fi trilogy. The book follows 18 year old Marguerite Caine. Both of her parents are physicists who have been working on a theory that there are various dimensions and alternate universes in existence. After many years of work with help from physics students Paul and Theo, they have created a device that allows energy to be moved through the different dimensions. The device, called the Firebird is able to teleport anyone’s consciousness since consciousness is a type of energy. All is fine until one day Paul, one of the physic students murders Marguerite’s father and steals the prototype for the Firebird and runs off the hide in another dimension. It is then up to Marguerite and Theo, the other physic student to go after him and avenge her father.BnzKxEdIQAAgtCK_jpg-large

I overall really enjoyed reading the book and was highly entertained by it. I loved the whole concept of the story, which is what originally caught my attention about the story as well as the beautiful cover. I’ve never read a Claudia Grey book before since none of her other stories really interested me and didn’t seem like something I would like so I wasn’t sure what to expect with this book despite its raving reviews.

One thing I liked about the book was how it slowly fed you the information about the Firebird and the alternate universes. It was a lot easier to understand than just having one big confusing information dump like a lot of books have. This made it easy to understand all of the more technical parts of the book and how the science part worked. The book also didn’t have any major plot holes which was also a relief.

Another thing I liked was whenever Marguerite travelled to a new dimension. It was fun to see what the new dimension was like and what they had in store for the characters. Unlike what I hear other reviewers saying I liked all of the dimensions and the uniqueness each of them had. And please can someone get started on some of the technology they came across in London since that was freaking awesome.

Now on to some things I didn’t love about the book. One of these things was the completely unnecessary love triangle. All authors now seem to be adding love triangles for no reason beside everyone else is or Twilight was successful so I should try as well. But seriously, no! I didn’t particularly like Paul or Theo from the beginning so seeing Marguerite being confused about what she felt about both of them was painful. As the book went on though I did start to like Paul a lot more. Paul and Marguerite definitely had their moments in the book and some scenes were super cute, such as the Christmas present exchange in Russia. I’m also not looking forward to where this love triangle will go in the next book but I’m sure it will follow the pattern that most love triangle do in trilogies, if you know what I mean. But if I had to choose a team in this first book I would definitely be team Paul.

Beside all this I did still enjoy the book and would recommend it though if you’re not a big fan of romance or love triangles then prepare yourself for a few cringe worthy cheesy moments. The book did have some great twists and surprises and while a few were predictable most were quite shocking. So overall I would rate this book 3.5 stars out of 5 and an overall approval from me 🙂

Gabby The Dauntless Warlock xx

One thought on “A Thousand Pieces Of You Book Review

Leave a Reply

